The following are official rules clarifications from Manny Granillo, the
If you have rules questions, please
email them to us and we'll try to get an official answer for you.
Q: On the front cover, the game says it is by "Hoplite Research."
On the coverpage, it says "By Titan Entertainment Group." The copyright notice also says
Titan. What is the difference between Titan and Hoplite?
A: Titan Entertainment Group owns Hoplite Research.
Q: What is the ground scale? (i.e., 1" = ? yards)
A: 1 inch = 20 yards
Q: Do you roll for weather once per day, or once per Day Segment?
A: Once per day.
Q: On page 6, it reads:
"Command Phase = The beginning of each Day Segment is subdivided into 2 to 5 turns."
This appears to be an editing mistake. The tactical phase of each Day Segment is subdivided
into 0-4 turns, not 2 to 5; how does the beginning of the Day Segment come into it?
Nor is the Command Phase the beginning of the Day Segment - the Issue Orders phase starts
the Segment. So I'm curious what you intended here.
A: This is a typo. It is 0-4 turns possible in each day segment.
Q: Phase 4, "Determining the Time of Day" - Am I correct in thinking that this phase is for determining the number of tactical turns per day segment, as well as (first turn only) the day segment on which the battle begins?
A: This phase the players determine whether the battle starts at 6am or 8am. At the beginning of each Day Segment, the players roll to determine the number of turns.
Q: On page 6, it says that battles start at Morning 8am segment, but on page 31 it says 9am.
A: This is a typo. It should be 8am.
Q: I'm not sure I understand the turn sequence, so let me restate it and you tell me if I got it right:
- Roll for weather at the start of each Field Day.
- FIELD DAY.
The Field Day is composed of 7 possible Day Segments (Early Morning, Morning, Late Morning, Midday, Afternoon, Evening, and Dusk).
Each Day Segment is made up of these phases:
- Issue Orders
- Command Phase
- Time of Day
- Tactical Phase
- TACTICAL PHASE. Each Tactical Phase consists of 0-4 turns.
Each turn is made up of these phases:
- Rout and Rally
- Charge Declarations
A: You are correct in the sequence.
Q: On the Battlefield Segment Simulator Die Roll Modifiers chart, it says to "Take Modifiers and average them...Round up the final modifier..." Would this mean, if I had an A general (+3) vs. a B general (+2) on a foggy day (-2), I would average +3, +2 and -2 to get a final modifier of +1?
A: Correct. This is added to the player with the initiative, who rolls for the number of turns in the Day segment in question.
Q: Same chart, some of the Other Modifiers look like they should be added to the generals' modifiers (i.e., the aide de camp bonus), but others clearly apply to both sides (i.e. low morale). How do the Other Modifiers work?
A: They are added to the adjusted modifier. So, after your previous example gives a result of +1, then add the modifiers that apply to come up with the final die roll modifier.
Q: Same chart, there is a bonus for "2 to 1 or more Light Troops." Does this means that you get the bonus if you have at least twice as many light troops as the enemy?
A: Yes. This means that your light troops outnumber the opponents by 2 to 1 or more.
Q: With regard to the Light Troop bonus, which units are considered Light?
A: All units that are based as skirmishers and light cavalry.
Q: With regard to the Light Troop bonus, how do you count units? By stands? If so, does a light cavalry stand equal a light infantry stand?
A: Count each unit separately. Not by stands.
Q: With regard to the Initiative Roll (page 6), are ties allowed, or are ties re-rolled?
A: Ties are re-rolled.
Q: Are leaders mounted or dismounted? What size stand do they use?
A: Leader can be mounted or dismounted. They represent approximately 50 or so aides, pages, and other types that accompany him. They can take up any base size.
Q: With reference to page 9, are artillerists mounted with their gun, or separately?
A: It does not matter. Normally, I mount them on the artillery stand.
Q: Page 18 says that visibility is hampered only by rain or snow. Does this mean that units have unlimited visibility in other weather conditions?
Q: Page 10 says that only visible units are placed on the tabletop.
Does a line of sight have to be traced?
A: Yes. Only troops that can be seen are placed.
Q: Is line of sight blocked by terrain, buildings, or units?
A: Yes, all of the above.
Q: Which units are allowed to spot? Leaders? Demoralized units?
A: All units can spot, regardless of condition. (Actually, the worse morale a unit has, the more aware it is of what is going on around it.)
Q: When a unit can no longer be seen, is it removed from the tabletop at that instance?
A: Yes. Their position can be marked on a map, or use a marker on the table.
Q: The Battlefield Segment Simulator Die Roll Modifiers chart refers to Aides de Camp as if they were figures, but on pg. 10 it would seem to indicate that aides are factored into the Army General's rating. How are aides represented in the game?
A: Aides are normally factored in, as every general had them. But there are times when there are aides of distinction such as the Prince and so forth that are represented by a figure.
Q: How do you know how many aides a force should have?
A: This is either determined by a scenario, gamemaster, or chance.
Q: Are there any leaders in the game, besides Army Generals (for the Army Group) and Generals (for Command Groups/Brigades)?
A: That is it for leaders.
Q: How do you tell Army Generals and Brigade Generals apart, since they are based the same?
A: Players usually make up a small diorama for the Army commander, so take some liberties here. More than likely they are just labeled as Army commenders.
Q: On page 10, it says that under certain circumstances a CG "...must begin an orderly retreat..." Is there a minimum required movement per turn? One player's interpretation of an orderly retreat might be slower than what his opponent might expect.
A: They must move 100% of their normal movement, unless they are
routing, in which case they must move a full column move away.
Q: Same rule, it says that a retreating CG may react normally "when threatened." What constitutes a threat?
A: Any unit that is within firing distance is a threat to any unit.
The defending units will stop to defend themselves normally.
Q: On page 10, the penalty for a unit being outside the command radius of its CG's leader is explained, but the penalty for the CG leader being outside of his CinC's radius is not explained.
A: The penalty is the same for CG Leaders. If they are outside of the CinC's radius, they must check only at the beginning of the Day Segment for the next turns whether or not they are in command. If they fail, they cannot do anything at all until they check again at the beginning of the next day segment. Changing of orders also has to suffer with the distance rules.
Q: Am I correct in presuming that if any part of a unit is within a leader's command radius, that the entire unit is considered in command?
Q: Are the die rolls mentioned above the same as the Activation Rolls mentioned in the sequence of play on pg. 6?
A: Yes. If any leader is outside of command radius, the leader must roll at or below the activation leader rating.
Q: On page 10, it says that if a leader is moved outside of his CinC's
command radius, a roll is made (at the start of the next Day Segment) "...on the leaders
command value discussed on the leader rating's table below in the Leader section." I
couldn't find such a table in the Leader section. Could you explain further?
A: The die roll is made only if the CG leader is outside of the CinC's command
radius. It represents the Leader's ability to handle things on his own and continue to
function under pressure. Once outside of command, the leader must roll at or below his
rating. If he fails, then his entire command does nothing for the entire day segment.
(Except cavalry can move half of their movement.)
Q: In a game with multiple army groups, do the command rules and penalties which apply to CG generals being out of range of their army general, also apply to army generals being out of range of the CinC?
Q: Do wing commanders need to be in command radius of the CinC?
A: Yes. Wing commanders receive an additional 5 inches to their command radius, because they are a wing commander.
Q: Does an army leader act as the CinC, or is the CinC a separate stand?
A: The army leader is the CinC. If there is more than one army present, there can be only one CinC. This is based on the number of units present.