Rules Clarifications


Q: What is the suggested stand size for leaders?

A: 1"x1"


Q: On pg. 11, the Leader Action Points Chart lists a cost of 1 point to "Move by Formation." Am I correct in assuming that this is 1 point per infantry battalion, cavalry regiment or artillery battery, and not 1 point per stand?

A: Yes.

Q: Can you spend 1 point and move a larger unit?

A: Yes. You can move up to an entire division in base-to-base contact as "one body." This is talked about on pg. 14 under Using Action Points or AP's.

Q: Do action points need be spent to move a leader?

A: No.


Q: The "Base Infantry Fire Factors" chart has a line for


Does this mean "mounted skirmishers" or "mounted and skirmishers"?

A: "mounted skirmishers"

Q: With reference to the "Infantry Fire Modifiers" on the Shooting, Cav. Recall & Leader Replacement reference card, where it says "Tired/five/Low on Ammo" - what does "five" refer to?

A: Having fired five times.

Q: On the Small Arms Fire Ranges chart on the same reference card, it indicates that Mounted Carbines/Bow have a range of 5 inches. On the Basic Infantry Fire Factors chart, would this count as point blank, short, medium or long range?

A: That is the furthest they can shoot. When looking at the Infantry Fire Chart, they can fire Short (2-5 inches) and Point Blank (0-2 inches).

Q: The reference card indicates that combat modifiers apply due to cover - light, medium, heavy, and super heavy. I haven't been able to find definitions for the different types of cover in the rules.

A: Refer to the Terrain Modifiers Chart for Movement. Players/Gamemasters can use the terminology to label any terrain.

Q: If Unit A is "in a firefight" with Unit B, does this always mean that Unit B is also "in a firefight" with Unit A?

A: Yes. Once Unit B is hit by Unit A, Unit B must check to go into a firefight with Unit A. If B rolls to enter into a firefight with A, it locks both units.

Q: Pg. 21 mentions that infantry can start fires. How close do the infantry need to be to the intended fire? In other words, can infantry start a fire in a building at long range (12" away)?

A: Yes. It is an abstract system to cause fire. The closer a unit is, the more likely that its efforts will be effective.


Q: Can multiple Grand Batteries be formed?

A: Yes, if the regular conditions are met.


Q: On pg. 25, it says that in order for a unit to charge, "...its orders must allow charging..." From the list on pg. 13, it seems like the only orders which would allow charging are Attack/Pin and All-Out Assault. Is this correct?

A: Yes. Although it can counter-charge.

Q: On pg. 25, under The Charge to Contact, it lists the requirements to make a charge. Do these apply only at the moment of the charge, or do they also limit charge declarations?

A: The unit wishing to charge must meet the conditions at the time of the Charge Declaration Phase.

For example, can a player declare a charge if his unit doesn't have sight of its target, hoping that after the rout phase a LOS will exist?

A: No. It must meet the conditions at the time of the charge declarations.

Q: On pg. 4 under Charge Declarations, it says that "...the movement of units does not occur until the beginning of the following movement phase." Does this mean:
  1. all charging units move, then all other units, or
  2. one player moves his charging units, then his other units; then other player moves his charging units, then his other units?

A: All charging units move, then all other units.

Q: On pg. 26, it says that the target of a charge is eligible for "...standing and firing upon the charges..." When does this firing occur?

A: At the most opportune moment before melee.

Is it treated the same as opportunity fire?

A: Not for the target of the charge. Other units may fire at it, if they meet the opportunity fire requirements.

Q: The sentence on pg. 26, beginning "The unit being charged...", is a bit hard to understand. I think it means one of the following:
  1. "Under these listed circumstances, the target of a charge must make a morale check."
  2. "After a mandatory morale check, targets which do not meet the following conditions may fire on the charging unit."
Which is right?

A: Under these listed circumstances, the target of a charge must make a morale check.

Q: Which troop types may charge? Infantry? Skirmishers? Artillery?

A: Infantry and skirmishers, when their conditions for charging are met. Artillery cannot charge.

Q: May a unit move into base-to-base contact with an enemy unit without conducting a charge?

A: No.

Q: Are the requirements to counter-charge the same as for charging? That is, proper formation, proper divisional orders, etc.?

A: Yes.

Q: Must counter-charges be declared in the Charge Declaration step?

A: Yes. This is declared after the charges have been declared. Counter-charges can only be declared on units charging the counter-chargers.


Q: Several melee modifiers apply due to "having 2:1 Masse" or 3:1 or 4:1. How is the ratio determined? Number of stands? Number of castings? Combat factors?

A: Number of units in the melee.

Q: A melee modifier applies for "having seen leader killed or wounded" - presume this applies to friendly leaders only?

A: Yes.

Does this apply only to leaders in this melee?

A: No. Only their own general or C-in-C, within line of sight or in melee with them.


Q: Are casualties and fatigue the same thing? Is "fatigue level" the same as the number of casualties a unit has?

A: Yes, except that Fatigues are not counted when determining if a unit is exhausted.

Q: When a unit reaches its Effectiveness level, is it Exhausted?

A: Yes. It can go over the limit, but it must leave the field as quickly as possible.

Q: On pg. 17 under Reasons for Becoming Disordered, it mentions "Interpenetrating units which would cause disorder." Which units cause disorder if interpenetrated?

A: Disorder is treated as a state which units should not be in. Skirmishers (p. 30-31) and deployed artillery (p. 15) can be interpenetrated without causing Disorder.

Q: Which types of terrain are Disordering?

A: All terrain except sand and hills. Crossing a wall, hedge, fence, or works is considered crossing an obstacle, which causes Disorder. Except for skirmishers as listed on the terrain chart.

Q: Under Regaining Cohesion (pg. 17) it explains how to recover from Disorder due to fire or melee. How does one recover from disorder due to interpenetration, disordering terrain, camels/elephants, or rout?

A: Same as fire-caused Disorder.

Q: Under Regaining Cohesion (pg. 17) it refers to "units that are disordered by melees" - however, from the "Reasons for becoming disordered" list, it doesn't seem that melee can cause Disorder.

A: It can cause Disorder if it is part of a melee result.

Q: On pg. 5, in the Rout and Rally Phase description, it says that routed units may attempt to rally if not fired upon or charged. May a routed unit attempt to rally if in contact with an enemy unit?

A: No.

Q: If a routed unit successfully rallies, is it still subject to making a pursuit roll in the same Rout and Rally phase?

A: Yes, if it is within an enemy router pursuit range.

Q: What is the consequence of failing a morale roll? Pg. 33-34 doesn't seem to explain.

A: Failing a morale roll when testing results in a rout. Failing a morale roll when testing to charge/charge home will not allow a charge/does not charge home (this is described in the Charge to Contact section).

Q: Bottom of page 35, description of Uncontrolled, some text seems to be missing. There is an example, then suddenly we're on item #2 of a list of some kind.

A: That's it. No #1. The Numeral 2 somehow was missed in the editing.

Last Updates
19 February 1999page first published
Comments or corrections?