First Edition Rules Clarifications

This web page exists to answer rules questions for players of Fantasy Warriors. Answers which are official (that is, direct from the publisher or the designer) are marked like this; other answers are the best guesses of staffers here at THE MINIATURES PAGE.

If you have rules questions, please email them to us and we'll try to come up with an answer for you.

Q: What do the MAX and MIN in the Army Lists mean?

A: The minimum and maximum size of a unit made of that Warrior type.

Q: Does the MAX include Specials?

A: Yes. Remember that when you are paying for Specials, you are not actually buying more figures, but are paying to convert a standard figure into a Special.

Q: Can a unit in Bloodlust counter-threaten?

A: No. Bloodlust counts as an "adverse reaction" (see pg. 20), and units with an adverse reaction cannot threaten (see pg. 19).

Q: What if two units of same size threaten each other? Which threat counts?

A: We say go next with the unit of greater Worth. If both are still equal, the one with more musicians goes first. If still equal, the one with more Specials. If still equal, dice for it.

Q: Using Movement By Command, can a player assign a numbered counter to an enemy leader or command?

A: Um, that's what the rules seem to imply. In other words, you could force a selected enemy Command to move first by giving it a low-numbered counter, thus forcing it to reveal its intentions before you move.

Q: Are there any limits to when a unit can Wheel? Does it cost movement to Wheel?

A: Our guess is that the same limits which apply to Turning also apply to Wheeling. The movement cost is that of the figure which moves furthest while Wheeling.

Q: Are there any rules as to how figures in a unit must be placed?

A: The rules do not say, though the designer obviously intends all figures in a unit to be in base-to-base contact, organized in one or more rows.

Q: Must a unit have a Standard in order for Capture the Standard to apply?

A: Obviously.

Q: On pg. 39 (Command Tests), there is a penalty for each Command which has Routed or been annihiliated. When is a Command considered Routed or annihiliated?

A: Looks like an error to us, we think it should be a penalty for units within that Command, which have been Routed or annihiliated.

Last Updates
19 June 1996reformatted
17 April 1996reorganized
1 June 1995first published
Comments or corrections?