/mivacommon/member/pass.mv: Line 148: MvEXPORT: Runtime Error: Error writing to 'readers/pass_err.log': No such file or directory [TMP] "What does this mean?" Topic

 Help support TMP


"What does this mean?" Topic


De Bellis Antiquitatis (DBA)

8 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please use the Complaint button (!) to report problems on the forums.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the De Bellis Antiquitatis (DBA) Rules Board


Areas of Interest

Ancients
Medieval
Renaissance
18th Century
Napoleonic

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Top-Rated Ruleset

Dux Bellorum


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

28mm Acolyte Vampires - Based

The Acolyte Vampires return - based, now, and ready for the game table.


Featured Profile Article

First Look: Black Seas

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian explores the Master & Commander starter set for Black Seas.


Featured Book Review


1,940 hits since 30 Mar 2017
©1994-2025 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
Green Tiger30 Mar 2017 3:27 a.m. PST

"An element can move into edge contact with an enemy flank edge only if it starts entirely on the opposite side of a line
prolonging that edge or if partly on the opposite sides of lines prolonging both flank and rear edges. It can move into
contact with an enemy rear edge only if it starts entirely on the far side of a line prolonging that edge."

advocate Supporting Member of TMP30 Mar 2017 4:05 a.m. PST

An element that starts directly in front of any part of an enemy element cannot move into edge contact with the flank of that element.

AAAA

___XXXX YYYY

Unit YYYY can contact the flank of AAAA
Unit XXXX can't (in one turn) even if it starts further away than 1BW.

Green Tiger30 Mar 2017 5:33 a.m. PST

Thanks advocate…

Thomas Thomas30 Mar 2017 11:10 a.m. PST

Got to be past the invisible line extending the flank edge.

Look at the diagram (makes it clear). Pity they were not placed in the main text (as we developers advocated – though I did fix this in D3H2).

TomT

Olivero31 Mar 2017 3:07 a.m. PST

D3H2? Man, seems like I am getting old, can't remember all the abbrvs.

lkmjbc331 Mar 2017 9:57 a.m. PST

Diagram 8 explains this rule in detail.

The diagrams have been a real help with this version.

D3H2 is Tom's upgrade of Hordes of the Things to DBA 3 standards. It is quite good.

Joe Collins

Thomas Thomas05 Apr 2017 9:48 a.m. PST

Sorry Olivero – D3H2 is kind of a local joke.

A parody on Phil's naming conventions (and evokes Star War's Droids).

Its to make clear this is a straight combination of DBA 3.0 (D3) and HOTT 2.0 (H2) using Phil rules and style. I added little except coordination.

For new ideas re DBX I use A Game of Fire and Ice which obviously uses a "normal" game name. It has a version of DBX presented in a "modern" rule style and containing lots of new ideas.

Thomas J. Thomas
Fame and Glory Games

Panfilov08 Sep 2017 7:52 a.m. PST

Thank You!

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.