Help support TMP


"Question about Heavy Cavalry" Topic


l'Art de la Guerre

4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please avoid recent politics on the forums.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the ADLG (l'Art de la Guerre) Rules Board


Areas of Interest

Ancients
Medieval

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Top-Rated Ruleset

Comitatus


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

Grade My Gauls

At last! Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian finally paints the first of his Gauls...


Featured Profile Article

GameCon '98

The Editor tries out this first-year gaming convention in the San Francisco Bay Area (California).


Featured Movie Review


1,492 hits since 11 Feb 2017
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Mithridates11 Feb 2017 9:33 p.m. PST

I wonder if anyone else has experienced our 'conundrum'

Just played a very hard fought game of Pyrrhus against Camillan Romans. We ended up with a case of MAD (Mutually Assured Destruction) – both armies broke! Pyrrhus and one of his generals died.

A game that demonstrated why Roman armies post Pyrrhus gave princeps the pilum.

Now the issue we were unable to agree upon:

On page 20 – the line for Heavy Cavalry states:

Heavy Cavalry………..Same as Medium cavalry + armour. The note clarifies the protection value of …….heavy cavalry already takes into account their armour ….abilities.

Armour provides additional protection against shooting – no disagreement there – but on page 16 it also provides an additional safeguard if losing a melee (ie hand to hand).

Does the comment on p20 concerning Heavy Cavalry apply to both shooting and hand to hand?

Grateful any comments.

Garry

martinwilliams12 Feb 2017 3:30 a.m. PST

Heavy Cavalry have a protection of one against shooting (unlike Medium Cavalry who have zero). They count as armoured in combat. If fighting an opponent who doesn't have armour or better, and they lose, they add one to the result.

Martin

madaxeman12 Feb 2017 9:37 a.m. PST

Answers here

Mithridates12 Feb 2017 1:09 p.m. PST

Thanks for the reply. Good to have consistency. I now have to break the bad news to my Roman opponent!

Garry

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.