Help support TMP

"Polybian Romans" Topic

To The Strongest!

9 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the To The Strongest! Rules Board

Areas of Interest


1,072 hits since 22 Jan 2017
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Big Red Supporting Member of TMP22 Jan 2017 11:11 a.m. PST

In the updated Polybian Roman army list it states that once per unit per game a special line exchange can be conducted whereby the Hastati can be exchanged for the Principes.

Later the list states that a unit of Triarii can exchange with the Hastati/Principes unit(s) within an enemy zone of control which otherwise is not permitted.

Finally to the question! Does the original Hastati/Principes unit have to withdraw beyond all enemy zones of control to exchange Hastati with Principes?

If my interpretation is correct (usually dangerous and often humiliating assumption) then the Hastati/Princip exchange process might be as follows:

Activate to withdraw one box out of enemy battle line zone of control. Attempt to make a second activation to exchange Hastati with Principes. Make a third activation attempt to return to original box to plug gaping hole in Roman battle line.

If the above interpretation is correct, it seems to be a case of desperately, risky business to try and make this exchange with the enemy more than willing to take advantage of any and all failed activation attempts.

JeffGrein22 Jan 2017 1:31 p.m. PST

I would also like to have some example of how this exchange works. I took it to mean that they could also exchange in the enemy zone of control. Much like the Triarii exchange. The new rules I assumed were to make the small units a little stiffer by giving the Hastati/Principes a chance to rally off the single disorder.

mollinary22 Jan 2017 3:10 p.m. PST

I think Jeff is closer to the intent. The hastati/principes is no longer an exchange between two one hit units, but within a single two hit unit. As such I do not think the exchange rule between units applies, and therefore it can take place within an enemy zone of control. As you point out, an exchange between this unit and a supporting unit of triarii can also be carried out within an enemy zone of control. Overall, quite an accretion of strength to the Romans compared to the old rules, I think. I am sure Simon will be along before long to show us the one true way!


Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP22 Jan 2017 5:31 p.m. PST

Hi Big Red,

The Polybian hastati/principes/triarii units can exchange ranks inside an enemy Zone of Control, as Jeff suggests- Polybian Romans are the only units permitted to do this.* Lesser mortals cannot exchange place within a ZOC and must fall back as you suggest if they wish to do so.

The reason I created the special is that I felt the Polybian small units were slightly too vulnerable. The revised Polybians are an altogether more formidable force, and beat the Seleucids twice in the Magnesia game at Crisis. Even the single hit triarii performed well- their high save and long spears prevented the Seleucid cataphracts from breaking through.

Best, Simon

* I may extend this to Camillan Romans; the jury is out!

JeffGrein22 Jan 2017 5:45 p.m. PST

We are going to try it with Camillan Romans on Tuesday to see how things go. I do assume that on the line exchange the Principes cannot use their pilum but they could use it in a future exchange.

Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP23 Jan 2017 2:21 a.m. PST

Hi Jeff, IIRC the Camillan principes have the hasta spear instead of the pilum- so the special unit wouldn't get the replacement pila. Instead, they would count as hoplites, like the triarii.

Big Red Supporting Member of TMP23 Jan 2017 10:24 a.m. PST

Thanks Simon, that makes much more sense.

olicana26 Jan 2017 2:21 a.m. PST

We found that they are much better now than before – MUCH better!

They are now a force to be reckoned with.


Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP26 Jan 2017 2:26 a.m. PST

Hi James- very pleased to hear it!

I have been accumulating Aventine Polybian Romans and allied minis for a grand re-basing project that will start late this year. Hopefully after that I'll be able to look at the Punic Wars.

I'll try to make some time, over the next week, to bring the Camillan's in line with the Polybians.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.