Help support TMP


"FUBAR Rules Question" Topic


FUBAR

14 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please be courteous toward your fellow TMP members.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the FUBAR Rules Board


Areas of Interest

World War Two on the Land
Modern
Science Fiction

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Recent Link


Top-Rated Ruleset

Beer and Pretzels Skirmish (BAPS)


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

Team Yankee Mi-24 Hind Helicopter Company

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian asks a painting service to handle a complicated commission: assembling four plastic kits, getting the magnets right, painting and applying decals.


Featured Workbench Article

Painting More of the Corporate Babes

Warcolours Painting Studio Fezian says he's pretty happy with these babes...


Current Poll


647 hits since 22 Jan 2017
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Dragon Gunner13 Jun 2012 6:38 a.m. PST

My question is if you have an elite unit of four figures and it takes five unsaved hits does that equal three guys suppressed and one dead or just four guys suppressed?

Angel Barracks13 Jun 2012 7:51 a.m. PST

An elite unit as you know can take up to 4 supressions.

5 unsaved hits must = 5 things happen.
So all 4 figures can be supressed (the max based on elite status) and that leaves one extra thing which must be taken as a death*

* though that depends if you use the rules about not being supressed and killed from the same bout of fire, in which case as you say then just 4 supressed.

I tend not to use this rule as it does not sit well with me so when I play I let figures be supressed and killed.

Such as when you have one figure left in a unit and it takes 8FP from a heavy tank and say all 8FP cause hits, to me it is silly that that much damage will only supress the single figure.
That much damage would have turned him to pulp.
Plus it means a sniper can't do a one shot kill.
Quite a few reasons I don't use that rule as it goes.

So, depends on what you class as the same bout of fire and if you use that rule or not.

Helpful?
Prolly not.


:D

Angel Barracks13 Jun 2012 7:56 a.m. PST

May be worth posting to more than just 15mm sci-fi boards though to get more responses?

Parmenion13 Jun 2012 11:11 a.m. PST

Angel Barracks I think that rule is helpful for situations where, for example, a 5-man unit takes two hits, so that you can't respond with "this one guy is suppressed and then also killed", i.e. you can't turn two unsaved hits into something that affects only one figure.

I agree with your point though that it's counter-intuitive when looking at the overkill angle. This is theoretical for me since I haven't actually got round to playing FUBAR yet, but I'd instinctively assume that deaths must occur in those situations, even though that isn't actually specified in the rules.

EDIT: I suppose the solution would be an addendum to that rule, saying "unless every figure in a unit has been suppressed this turn and there are unsaved hits remaining".

Angel Barracks13 Jun 2012 11:18 a.m. PST

Angel Barracks I think that rule is helpful for situations where, for example, a 5-man unit takes two hits, so that you can't respond with "this one guy is suppressed and then also killed", i.e. you can't turn two unsaved hits into something that affects only one figure.

Could be, though I think that would be a very rare occurence as most of the time people would rather have two supressed figures than a dead one, but yes your point is valid, just not sure how many times the rule has prevented

two unsaved hits into something that affects only one figure
happening.


Not played it yet?
Good heavens man, shame on you!

:P

Parmenion13 Jun 2012 11:21 a.m. PST

Good heavens man, shame on you!
I know, I know, but if it's any consolation you've given me the 6mm FUBAR bug. I'm currently assembling and painting my forces and terrain.

Angel Barracks13 Jun 2012 11:21 a.m. PST

but if it's any consolation you've given me the 6mm FUBAR bug

Yes, yes it is.
Looking forward to seeing some piccies, hint hint!

Parmenion13 Jun 2012 11:23 a.m. PST

Yeah, I need to work out a way of hosting pics online… and also how to take a decent photo. grin

Mako1113 Jun 2012 2:53 p.m. PST

For larger games (a platoon or two+, per side), in order to simplify them, and since I believe in the future that combat will be more deadly than today, I typically just ignore suppressions, and assume all hits are kills.

For smaller battles, of perhaps a few squads per side, the suppression rules probably work.

Dragon Gunner13 Jun 2012 9:04 p.m. PST

*" though that depends if you use the rules about not being supressed and killed from the same bout of fire, in which case as you say then just 4 supressed."-Angel

And that is the problem, the way the rules are written it is impossible to kill a unit if supressed is always chosen as an option.

Angel Barracks13 Jun 2012 11:47 p.m. PST

If using those rules you need to decide what a bout of fire is.
I assumed they mean a squad firing is a bout.
So, squad one supresses the target and squad two kills it as squad two is a different bout of fire.

Parmenion14 Jun 2012 1:25 a.m. PST

I read it the same way as Angel Barracks.

I think I'll employ the overriding principle that you can't leave unsaved hits hanging without effect. If that means you have to kill a figure that's already been suppressed this bout, so be it.

Dragon Gunner14 Jun 2012 6:43 a.m. PST

I will handle it the way Angel Barracks has stated.

John Leahy Supporting Member of TMP14 Jun 2012 10:39 a.m. PST

That's the way we have played it since it came out. Hits must be assigned.

Thanks,

John

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.