Help support TMP


"Fire and Steel (WRG) Sequence of play question." Topic


Fire and Steel

10 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Fire and Steel Rules Board


Areas of Interest

18th Century
Napoleonic
American Civil War
19th Century

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Showcase Article

1:72nd IMEX Union Artillery Limber

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian completes his initial Union force in 1:72nd scale.


Current Poll


445 hits since 24 Jan 2017
©1994-2020 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

John Leahy Supporting Member of TMP17 Dec 2005 5:40 p.m. PST

I was going over the rules and cannot quite get a handle on how the Sequence of play works. You are allowed so many action points per phase. But it seems like movement and Combat are two seperate phases. You have to have 1 AP to engage in close combat after the movement phase but you move by figure. This can't be correct since that seems pretty fiddily to have to track AP's per fig over a complete turn.

Any help?

Thanks,

John

CPT Shanks17 Dec 2005 10:18 p.m. PST

Given that it is a skirmish system the fact that there are not too many individuals on the table meens it isn't that hard to track, that and the fact that if you moved you used an impulse so a marker isn't really needed.

John Leahy Supporting Member of TMP17 Dec 2005 10:44 p.m. PST

It seems that you do need to track them. Combat comes after the movement phase (for everyone, I believe). Since you cannot engage in combat without using at least 1 impulse you need to track who has them left, correct? I must not be understanding something. This seems way to cumbersome.

Thanks,

John

Tony S18 Dec 2005 6:16 a.m. PST

I also was a bit unclear on that point. I ended up just having each figure take all three impulses at once. Seemed to work well enough.

link

CPT Shanks18 Dec 2005 12:00 p.m. PST

It really is quite simple
If you're using units, activate as units, still using impulse for individuals though. If you move 3" you're at 2 impulse if you move 6" then you have one left to fire or fight with, if you move 9" then that character is done except to defend himself if needed. So by virtue that you're model moved you know what the impulse is. If you only have a few models this should be easy enough to keep track of mentally, for units or larger games, using movement cards or chits could be helpful in keeping track of what unit moved. Hope this helps.

John Leahy Supporting Member of TMP18 Dec 2005 3:03 p.m. PST

Ok, thanks. But I thought that everyone had to do the movement portion of the phase first. So, anyone (units) who had one impulse left would need to be marked.
Is this correct?

I have looked at a few of the scenarios. There are 15-20+ figs per side on some them. That seems like a lot to track, IMHO.

I ran the game with French and Indian War figs.

Thanks,

John

John Leahy Supporting Member of TMP18 Dec 2005 3:07 p.m. PST

Tony, thanks for the link! I remember being there before but hadn't bookmarked it. So, you didn't have any issues using all 3 impulses at once? I asume you allow firing and close combat to be done at the same time? That does make more sense to me. The rules just weren't real clear about it. I appreciate the help guys!

Thanks,

John

Polaris Games Dave21 Dec 2005 2:49 a.m. PST

Hiya,

It's been quite a while since I've played F&S, but I always liked it alot… It's one of my favorites.

I have always played as per what Mr Chodes said. That is, all figures (or units if your activating by units) move by chit draw. There are three impulses per turn, during which all chits are drawn. So you actually draw chits three times per turn. Any figure/unit that did NOT spend his final (3rd) impulse doing something else can fire in the combat phase.

Heres a quick example;

Stumpy Pete and Filthy Fred are about to shoot it out in Cowtown Kansas. Both are skill 2.

Impulse 1; Stumpy's chit comes up first. He runs down the boardwalk and dives behind a horse trough. Fred walks calmy down main street toward Stumpy.

Impulse 2; Fred's chit is first this time. He walks 3" closer to Stumpy, yelling obscenities at him. Stumpy, being more smart than brave, draws his pistol and aims at Fred from around the edge of the horse trough (he places an Aim marker next to him and an NPoA marker on Fred).

Impulse 3; again, Fred's chit comes up first. He's none too happy to see Stumpy's pistol barrel pointed his way, do he dives behind a pickle barrel outside McSweens Store. He's used his last impulse for movement, so he can't fire. Stumpy can't fire in impulse three either, since he aimed in the middle of the turn instead of the beginning.

Combat phase; Fred can't shoot. Stumpy can. The range is 8", Stumpy has a pistol and Fred's behind cover. So Stumpy rolls 1d6+2 and gets 7. The bullet smacks into the pickle barrel and pickle juice squirts out onto Fred, who must now take a morale test. Rolling 1d6 (there are no modifiers yet) he gets a 1! It seems Fred's not as brave as he lets on… He gets 2 morale markers and goes prone.

Fred's gonna be in trouble on turn two…

Hope that helps… Kinda makes me want to play a F&S game myself. My son and I just watched "The Four Feathers" the other night… Maybe I'll set up a little Sudanese Skirmish for Christmas weekend. :)

John Leahy Supporting Member of TMP23 Dec 2005 12:43 p.m. PST

Hmmm……..so there are three seperate sub turns (phases) per turn? That makes sense, too. But gee, the author didn't do so hot a job explaining it. :-) Reloading sorta makes more sense that way. I appreciate you taking the time to reply. I really like the rules. I just want to use them in the way they were meant to be and that I can understand.


Thanks and Merry Christmas,

John

Polaris Games Dave23 Dec 2005 10:10 p.m. PST

Well, your right that the author didn't explain it too well (an example of play would have helped alot), but that's the way I interpreted the rules.

It could be that my interpretation is wrong, but it does work!

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.