Help support TMP


"WRG 1925-1950 " Topic


Wargames Rules for All-Arms Land Warfare from Platoon to Batallion Level 1925-1950 and 1950-2000

18 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Wargames Rules for All-Arms Land Warfare Rules Board


Areas of Interest

World War One
World War Two on the Land
Modern

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Showcase Article

C-in-C's 1:285 Soviet BMP3

Time to upgrade your BMP1s and 2s?


Featured Workbench Article

Three Adventurers from Hasslefree

Paul Baker of Brush Strokes tackles three female adventurers from Hasslefree.


Featured Book Review


681 hits since 5 Feb 2017
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

alexjones18 Feb 2012 7:50 a.m. PST

If there is anyone still out there playing this classic set of rules, would you clear something up for me?

Once an element has been neutralised, is it unable to move and fire for the remainder of the game or just for the next turn only??

Mobius18 Feb 2012 8:52 a.m. PST

Next bound only. See page 25.

alexjones18 Feb 2012 9:24 a.m. PST

Can a neutralised element be KOed by any firing element? Not only the original firer which first neutralised it?

(Which version of the rules do you have, I think they are different to mine ).

Martin Rapier18 Feb 2012 10:33 a.m. PST

I am pretty sure they all can. A hit neutralizes the target then you roll to destroy it. We always used to play it that way.

Mobius18 Feb 2012 6:02 p.m. PST

I have January 1975 and June 1977. But the 1977 is missing pages 23-26.
Any unit can fire at another that it can acquire.

cmdr kevin18 Feb 2012 10:31 p.m. PST

Check out this site. Its online as a PDF.

richinq19 Feb 2012 2:49 a.m. PST

Here is a link for the pdf

link

alexjones19 Feb 2012 3:34 a.m. PST

Is it this one??

PDF link

So once a target is neutralised, other elements firing at it, in the same bound, need only roll once to attempt to knock it out? (They don't have to roll to attempt to neutralise first since the target has already been neutralised by another element that bound)

I need to buy another copy, my copy seems incomplete also.

Martin Rapier19 Feb 2012 1:53 p.m. PST

"So once a target is neutralised, other elements firing at it, in the same bound, need only roll once to attempt to knock it out? (They don't have to roll to attempt to neutralise first since the target has already been neutralised by another element that bound)"

No, each element has to hit a.k.a. 'neutralise' the target first before it rolls to destroy it, they dont get a free kill roll against an already neutralised target.

One thing to note is that neutralised targets are no longer movng nor firing so next turn you may well not be able to see them… I always rather liked the way infantry firefights waxed and waned as units disappeared from view.

alexjones20 Feb 2012 12:46 p.m. PST

Thanks Martin. Do you mind if I ask which WW2 rules you use? I am sure I have seen your name in relation to Crossfire as well

Mobius20 Feb 2012 1:35 p.m. PST

One thing to note is that neutralised targets are no longer movng nor firing so next turn you may well not be able to see them

Well, they may not be moving the current turn. The rules say that they can be neutralized along their path of movement so any thing firing at them after they are neutralized must do so as if they are not moving.

This sort of gets into the time traveler's paradox. If to try to ko them another friendly unit fires at the neutralized unit before it gets to the spot the first firer neutralized then doesn't ko them, they never reach the point that they were neutralized.

stenicplus21 Feb 2012 1:16 p.m. PST

I have a copy of the June 1973 version of Armour & Infantry with playsheet (and indeed a 1982 pricelist and WRG leaflet).

Available for to a good home for postage and a couple of beers…

Sir Samuel Vimes26 Jun 2012 11:44 a.m. PST

Sadly, the links seem to be dead. Anyone have another source foe download. Would that I still had my copy from 25 years ago.

Sparker30 Jun 2012 4:22 p.m. PST

Good god this thread is a blast from the past! A great set of rules, once you got the whole 'modes' thing weighed off…unfortunately adherents around here are rarer than hen's teeth!

stenicplus05 Jul 2012 1:55 p.m. PST

Sir Samuel Vimes, as mentioned, I have a copy. It is available to a good home. I'd be grateful for the postage, 'the beers' aren't compulsory.

deephorse05 Jul 2012 5:30 p.m. PST

Here's the link;

PDF link

spontoon22 Jul 2012 8:44 a.m. PST

WRG Rules!

BillyNM19 Jan 2021 11:29 a.m. PST

Be nice if they could spell battalion.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.