Help support TMP


"Rules Clarifications" Topic


Spearhead

4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Spearhead Rules Board


Areas of Interest

World War Two on the Land

Featured Hobby News Article


Top-Rated Ruleset

A Fistful of TOWs


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

Victory as a Campaign System

Can a WWII blockgame find happiness as a miniatures campaign system?


Featured Workbench Article

The British Get Stuck

Experimenting with an idea for storing 15mm figures and vehicles...


Featured Movie Review


967 hits since 12 Dec 2016
©1994-2021 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian12 Dec 2016 4:39 p.m. PST

These are our unofficial recommendations.

Q: Can only Tank Borne Infantry be transported by tanks? Rule 5.7.3 says that only tank borne infantry can remount, suggesting that regular infantry can mount but not remount. However, the tank mounting rules cover only tank borne infantry.

A: Our guess is that only tank borne infantry can be transported by tanks.

Q: Is movement for Close Combat done during the normal Movement Phase, or during the Close Combat Phase?

A: During normal movement. Only combat is performed during the Close Combat Phase.

Q: Can an off-board Reserve unit be given a Flanking March Order when committed, if not in excess of the total number of flank marches allowed?

A: Yes. Rule 3.4 says that "any of the above orders" may be issued to Reserve units.

Q: How do off-table artillery stands determine if targets are in range?

A: Given the long range of such stands, just assume they can hit anything on the tabletop.

Q: Rule 3..7.3 says that Flank Marching battalions "…may always enter along their own baseline edge without performing the Flank March die roll." Does this mean:
  • that a unit can be given a Flank March order to enter from the baseline edge?
  • that a battalion with orders to Flank March from a table edge on Turn Six may instead enter from the baseline edge on Turn Six?
  • that any battalion with Flank March orders can instead enter from the baseline edge on any turn?

A: No, Yes, No.

Q: Rule 8.2 says that "Artillery pieces must use Direct Fire when targets are within Direct Fire range." What is Direct Fire range?

A: Minimum range. In other words, if a target is too close for indirect fire, then the artillery piece must use direct fire (or not attack at all).

Q: Rule 8.3, Ammunition Supply: Do smoke rounds count as artillery missions? Is ammunition counted separately for smoke and high explosive rounds?

A: Smoke rounds count as missions. It is up to the scenario designer to decide whether to account for different rounds of ammunition.

Q: Rule 9.5 says that "Even if the Flak misses, it still exerts a 'modifying' effect upon the nerves of the pilot," yet the modifier table in Rule 9.4 indicates that the modifier applies simply due to the presence of the flak gun. Does this mean that the modifier applies even if the gun doesn't fire? Even if the gun is ineligible to fire, due to movement?

A: Yes and yes. Even if the gun isn't firing enough to be significant in terms of shooting down the sortie, it is still an influence on the pilot.

Q: According to Rule 9.1, an aircraft sortie can have only one weapon load. Is this assigned pre-game, or at the time of attack?

A: Pre-game.

Q: In the Advanced Rules, it says that "Additionally, if the defeated Flanked Platoon is Dismounted, a roll of 4-6 can be made to capture the Platoon." Does the "additionally" mean that capturing only applies to flank attacks in close combat, or does it applies to any close combat? Why only Dismounted stands?

A: Yes, and we don't know.

tippecanoe828 Dec 2016 12:21 p.m. PST

Some comments from the SH mailing list:

Q: Can an off-board Reserve unit be given a Flanking March Order when committed, if not in excess of the total number of flank marches allowed?

A: Yes. Rule 3.4 says that "any of the above orders" may be issued to Reserve units.

This is a bit more complex. Rule 3.10, last para, last sentence says that "Flank Marching Battalions may not be part of the Reserve." Further, Rule 3.10, second para, second sentence says that "The future entry point for each Battalion must be indicated in the original plan (Initial Orders)." The combination of these two precludes having an entry point for the Reserve Battalion except along the army baseline. Now there could be a scenario situation where the baseline is on two sides of the table, but this would still be a reserve activation not flank march.

tippecanoe828 Dec 2016 12:29 p.m. PST

Q: Rule 9.5 says that "Even if the Flak misses, it still exerts a 'modifying' effect upon the nerves of the pilot," yet the modifier table in Rule 9.4 indicates that the modifier applies simply due to the presence of the flak gun. Does this mean that the modifier applies even if the gun doesn't fire? Even if the gun is ineligible to fire, due to movement?

A: Yes and yes. Even if the gun isn't firing enough to be significant in terms of shooting down the sortie, it is still an influence on the pilot.

This should be No and No based on the official clarification below.


Flak presence modifier applies in aircraft attack provided flak stand(s) actually fire at least one aircraft that turn.


Once a flak stand fires at any plane, all planes within its range suffer the flak presence modifier that turn.

tippecanoe828 Dec 2016 12:30 p.m. PST

All others are correct.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.