Help support TMP

"To the Strongest - rules question" Topic

To The Strongest!

16 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the To The Strongest! Rules Board

Areas of Interest


441 hits since 8 Jan 2017
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

CptKremmen01 Nov 2016 2:55 p.m. PST

If you have a light infantry skirmisher in a box and opposite it is an enemy box with light infantry skirmisher in the front and a deep pike block behind….

The light infantry charges the enemy block. The enemy light infantry choose to evade which means the light infantry have to charge the remaining unit in the box, i.e. the pike block which is probably a bad idea.

Later on it lists units not able to declare charges. Would the light infantry charge the light infantry but when they evade then stop before contacting the remaining pike unit in the box?

I have tried going on the to the strongest forum but cant get it even load.


Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP01 Nov 2016 4:34 p.m. PST

Hi Andy, light infantry can't charge formed troops so the charge would be cancelled after the enemy LI screen evaded.

Regarding the forum, alas it's Yuku which isn't unfortunately isn't the most reliable forum but I expect it'll be back up tomorrow.

Best, Simon

David Smith Supporting Member of TMP02 Nov 2016 6:12 a.m. PST


You might check the rules questions on the forum when it comes online again. There was some discussion on there, and a couple of the guys mentioned that it might need you to interpret.


CptKremmen02 Nov 2016 8:54 a.m. PST

Thanks for the response. Hoping to play 1st game soon. Coming from Sword and spear which is a very good set of rules, thought i would try something different.

There are other forum operators who will run a forum for free and are quite reliable?


CptKremmen02 Nov 2016 8:54 a.m. PST

I still can't access it today

mollinary03 Nov 2016 6:51 a.m. PST

Nor today.

Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP03 Nov 2016 6:56 a.m. PST

Yuku support says they are in the process of restoring the boards, so fingers crossed. I will have to find a more reliable host, though, down the line.

mollinary03 Nov 2016 12:46 p.m. PST

Working now!

Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP03 Nov 2016 1:14 p.m. PST

Yes here too. :-)

Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP03 Nov 2016 1:55 p.m. PST

I can't post on it at the moment but it does seem to be coming back.

MikeBrn Inactive Member04 Nov 2016 6:37 a.m. PST


If you enjoy S&S then I hope you would also take to TTS. I have enjoyed both and find the latter an exceptionally enjoyable and rewarding experience. The TTS rules are a lot of fun, easy to understand and play and give rise to some really good narrative.


CptKremmen14 Nov 2016 6:48 a.m. PST

I am playing my 1st game next week. I am keen.

I am hoping they will allow a fast moving game with a large number of miniatures


CptKremmen14 Nov 2016 9:25 a.m. PST

Hopefully easy question….

When an elephant rampages and you follow the chart on page 56, those directions are all BEHIND the elephant aren't they? Not in front of the elephant??


Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP14 Nov 2016 4:12 p.m. PST

Oh yes! They run back.

In a future second edition (at least 18 months off, possibly longer, as I am currently in the throes of writing an ECW version) I plan to randomise it more, so they will mostly run back but have a chance of bolting in different directions.

CptKremmen15 Nov 2016 4:59 p.m. PST

Just double checking the way the save modifiers work.

Pikemen get a +1 save modifier against mounted charging frontally
All foot that are not disordered get a +1 save modifier against mounted charging frontally.

So undisordered pike get a +2 save modifier against mounted charging them?


PS Does "Spearmen" only mean hoplites or does it include auxiliaries? or even javelin men such as Thorakitai?

Personal logo BigRedBat Sponsoring Member of TMP16 Nov 2016 2:22 a.m. PST

Yes re the +2 save for pike frontally charged by cavalry.

Spearmen in this context includes hoplites, thureophoroi and thorakitae, but not auxilia. I have been convinced by Luke Ueda-Sarson's piece that thureophoroi and thorakitae generally fought in battle with longer spears. The thureophoroi can also fight as light infantry javelinmen, of course.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.