Help support TMP


"DBx ZOC/TZ Clarification wrt Flankers" Topic


De Bellis Magistrorum Militum

4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please remember not to make new product announcements on the forum. Our advertisers pay for the privilege of making such announcements.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the De Bellis Magistrorum Militum Rules Board

Back to the De Bellis Multitudinis Rules Board

Back to the Horse, Foot and Guns Rules Board

Back to the De Bellis Velitum Rules Board

Back to the Hordes of the Things Rules Board

Back to the De Bellis Renationis Rules Board

Back to the De Bellis Antiquitatis (DBA) Rules Board


Action Log

06 Jan 2017 10:02 p.m. PST
by Editor in Chief Bill

  • Crossposted to De Bellis Renationis board
  • Crossposted to Hordes of the Things board
  • Crossposted to De Bellis Velitum board
  • Crossposted to Horse, Foot and Guns board
  • Crossposted to De Bellis Multitudinis board
  • Crossposted to De Bellis Magistrorum Militum board

Areas of Interest

Fantasy
Ancients
Medieval
Renaissance
18th Century
Napoleonic
American Civil War
19th Century
World War One

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Ruleset

Avgvstvs to Avrelian


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Workbench Article

Painting the USS Meade

Having scratchbuilt a flying monitor, dampfpanzerwagon Fezian now paints and bases the model.


876 hits since 7 Jan 2017
©1994-2024 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
Visceral Impact Studios17 Sep 2015 11:15 a.m. PST

I want to make sure that I fully understand the ZOC/TZ rules with respect to flanking moves.

Two elements, A and B, are from the same army.

Element A's right flank is aligned on element B's left flank, both face the same direction and both are parallel to one another.

But element A is BEHIND element B a given distance intended to prevent an enemy element from flanking and pinning element B.

Question: what is the maximum distance element A can be behind element B to prevent an enemy element from flanking and pinning element B?

Must it be a little less than 1 BW from the front edge of element B?

Or could be as much as a little less than 2 BW from the front edge of element B since that would put an enemy flanker within element A's ZOC/TZ once aligned on element B?

Thanks in advance!

Swampster17 Sep 2015 12:34 p.m. PST

The key thing is the threat zone.
If an enemy would have to move into A's threat zone to hit B's flank with its front, then it cannot do so.

So the last option is the correct one. It is the enemy's width plus A's TZ.

The enemy can still move to a position so its own flank is in contact with B's flank. This will give a minus to B's combat roll but no quick kill.

aynsley68317 Sep 2015 1:11 p.m. PST

This is one of those it's easier to show you things, so will others do all the writing.

Visceral Impact Studios17 Sep 2015 3:58 p.m. PST

Thanks Swampster! That's what I thought. Just wanted to be absolutely certain as I plan my Diabolical Army for upcoming event.

Bwaaaa haaa haaa! :-)

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.