Help support TMP


"DBA 3 Threat Zone Question" Topic


De Bellis Antiquitatis (DBA)

16 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the De Bellis Antiquitatis (DBA) Rules Board


Areas of Interest

Ancients
Medieval
Renaissance
18th Century
Napoleonic

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Ruleset

Lord of the Sea


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

Oddzial Osmy's 15mm Teutonic Spearmen

PhilGreg Painters in Sri Lanka paints our Teutonic spearmen.


Featured Workbench Article

Building the Langton Anglo-Dutch British 1st Rate

Personal logo Virtualscratchbuilder Supporting Member of TMP Fezian is a big fan of the Age of Sail, and these ships really speak to him - he loves transitional eras, and the Anglo-Dutch Wars was one of those.


Featured Profile Article

First Look: 1:700 Scale USS Constitution

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian looks at the new U.S.S. Constitution for Black Seas.


652 hits since 2 Jan 2017
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Durban Gamer18 Apr 2016 2:45 a.m. PST

In the Purple book it simply states that a stand exerts a threat zone 1 BW distance to it's front. If stand A is contacted by stand B, does stand A still exert a threat zone through stand B eg reaching behind stand B? Or, does the contact by B black A's threat zone?

With thanks for guidance.

MajorB18 Apr 2016 2:59 a.m. PST

I think the contact by B blocks A's threat zone.

XRaysVision18 Apr 2016 3:18 a.m. PST

Correct. Any element between blocks the ZOC of the one behind.

platypus01au18 Apr 2016 3:32 a.m. PST

Stand A still exerts a threat zone in v3. The contact by B does not block it.

Cheers,
JohnG

MajorB18 Apr 2016 4:00 a.m. PST

Stand A still exerts a threat zone in v3. The contact by B does not block it.

Where does it say that in the V3.0 rules?

Personal logo timurilank Supporting Member of TMP18 Apr 2016 4:43 a.m. PST

Page 18, diagrams pertaining to Threat Zones.

See figure 7b…the TZ of Blade Y is not blocked by Spear A so the movement of Spear B directly behind A is restricted.

Yesthatphil18 Apr 2016 4:51 a.m. PST

Yes … one of the key changes in V3 is that threat zones can no longer be blocked.

Phil

lkmjbc318 Apr 2016 5:28 a.m. PST

Important safety tip…

Don't get your reserves too close to the front lines! One of the viable tactics now in V 3.0 is to try and freeze your opponents reserves with XRay threat zones. You can use the fact that Pike and Blade now pursue to launch attacks hoping to fix your opponents reserves forward. This can work well… if you have the pips to co-ordinate a flanking attack.

But of course… if you have the pips.

Joe Collins

Who asked this joker18 Apr 2016 6:00 a.m. PST

This one actually was discussed to death on the yahoo group. Threat zones are not blocked by friendly or enemy troops. X-Ray threat zones so to speak. So, like Joe says, don't get to close with your reserve line.

XRaysVision18 Apr 2016 6:45 a.m. PST

Wow, I completely missed this in the new edition. But then, I've not had an opportunity to play it yet. Sadly, no one with whom to play anything where I live so I only get to game a couple time a year.

lugal hdan18 Apr 2016 10:34 a.m. PST

I suspect one of the original reasons for this change was to keep a rear-supported unit from "flattening out" into a neighboring area. Though with the removal of rear support for spears, this is less of an issue.

Durban Gamer18 Apr 2016 11:50 a.m. PST

Thanks everyone -threat zone going through it is – that was certainly my interpretation, given the simple and unqualified statement in the rules about TZ being exerted forward.

vtsaogames18 Apr 2016 1:05 p.m. PST

Huh. I've played several 3.0 games and didn't notice this. On the other hand, it didn't come up.

evilgong18 Apr 2016 3:44 p.m. PST

There are lots of interesting ways to caught up in X-ray ZODs.

db

Jeff Preston23 Apr 2020 4:21 a.m. PST

Hi Folks!

Sorry if this is covered elsewhere!

In DBA v 3.0 if an element recoils 1 BW is it still in the TZ of the enemy it was recoiled by?

Many thanks for any help!

Personal logo Bobgnar Supporting Member of TMP30 Apr 2020 4:35 p.m. PST

Yes. That recoil puts the element's front edge "AT" the front edge of the Base Width of the element that caused recoil.
First: . "Within" means "at or closer than".

Second: The area 1 BW deep in front of any edge of a War Wagon or the front edge of any other type of element, or the area within 1
BW of any point of a camp, city or garrisoned fort is its Threat Zone (TZ).

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.