"Clash Of Empires - with element" Topic
All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.
For more information, see the TMP FAQ.
Back to the Clash of Empires Rules Board
Areas of InterestAncients
|CptKremmen||24 Sep 2011 2:53 p.m. PST|
I have a lot of 15mm armies based on large bases of around a dozen or so figures for Impetus.
Is it practical to try and play clash of empires with minis that are not individually based?
|Scutatus||24 Sep 2011 4:02 p.m. PST|
I see no reason why you couldn't, albeit with a little ingenuity. You would have to record your losses somehow instead of removing casualties, but it could be do able. I play with four or even six to a base without problems, although 12 to a base is rather more extreme!
|CptKremmen||25 Sep 2011 2:30 a.m. PST|
Thanks, i am tempted. Obviously Impetus is a unit based game and CoE is a figure removal game but as you say it may be possible to improvise.
Presumably even though you take casualties off the actual length of the line seldom shrinks? I imagine it is mostly 2nd ranks etc that get removed.
|Manflesh||25 Sep 2011 3:47 p.m. PST|
The worst you could do is try it and find that it doesn't. I tried to play Field of Glory with Warhammer basing. It doesn't translate but at least I know!
Hope it works!
|EagleSixFive||26 Sep 2011 4:47 a.m. PST|
According to a CoE overview in a recent issue of WI you can mix and match basing systems from FoG, WAB, Impetus, et al.
|CptKremmen||26 Sep 2011 5:19 a.m. PST|
Interesting thanks guys..
|Valator||26 Sep 2011 5:28 a.m. PST|
I tried using my Impetus army in my first (and only, so far) game of CoE. If you calculate unit sizes based on the dimensions of your bases, you shouldn't have too much trouble. Mine are 120mm by 40mm for most units, which gives me 12 men per base, so I simply made the units several Impetus bases thick in most cases.
That said, we had trouble with some of CoE's rules in other areas and both of us were new to the game, so the ability of my Impetus-based force to function could very well be the result of us doing it wrong.