Help support TMP


"Clash of Empires - Persia book: What's going on?" Topic


Clash of Empires

13 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Clash of Empires Rules Board



Areas of Interest

Ancients
Medieval

240 hits since 2 Jan 2017
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

The Sentient Bean07 Dec 2011 4:19 p.m. PST

Can anyone advise if they've received their copy?

I emailed them about 3 weeks ago to say that mine hadn't yet arrived (pre-order to Australia).

I was told to wait another week.

Nothing has turned up. Emailed them about a week ago to ask if I should be concerned.

No reply.

As I ordered in Sept, I think it's over the limit for a Paypal claw back. I really don't want to go down that route but I'm getting the Bleeped texts.

They should have sent out a blanket email to all pre-ordering customers to say that there were delays in the first place and now I can't get a hold of them…

It's too bad because they are burning up good will in the community. There was going to be an event staged at Cancon but it had the plug pulled due to the new book being delayed.

Two Ducks Pond07 Dec 2011 4:28 p.m. PST

I received mine from Nick at Northstar. I'd to wait a little longer than normal, but it did arrive.

Cheers,

Helen

Nic Robson Sponsoring Member of TMP07 Dec 2011 5:56 p.m. PST

Have had it available in the shop for two weeks.
Nic Eureka Miniatures

The Sentient Bean07 Dec 2011 5:59 p.m. PST

Thank you both! At least I now know the book exists. Maybe the guys will see this thread and reply to me.

Scutatus08 Dec 2011 5:30 a.m. PST

Got mine a few weeks back. There have been delays, apparently largely involving the printers messing Great Escape Games about rather too much. GEG have had to change the printing company they use and start again.

And they have made public apologies for the delays, which frankly have been mostly beyond their control, so I don't know about "burning up good will".

The book is printed now though. Those who pre-ordered have their copies in their hands and retail copies are being distributed to stores as we speak.

The Sentient Bean08 Dec 2011 2:48 p.m. PST

"so I don't know about "burning up good will"."

Well, I know about it… obviously.

I pre-ordered. No copy in my hands, which is the point of the post in case you missed that bit. I suggest having a re-read.

An explanatory email to the people who pre-ordered would have been better than a public apology that you wouldn't know existed unless you were looking for it.

Hey, but thanks for your helpful post. 5 stars.

Scutatus08 Dec 2011 3:11 p.m. PST

Any time, happy to help.

You can please some of the people some of the time, but you can't please all of the people all of the time.

If you bothered to check their PUBLIC OPENLY ACCESSIBLE FORUMS you would have seen the apology and heads up you were wanting. Shame a five minute search was too much bother for you.

McWong7308 Dec 2011 3:21 p.m. PST

FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

picture

The Sentient Bean08 Dec 2011 3:29 p.m. PST

You hadn't exactly gone out of your way to call attention to the building plans had you? I mean like actually telling anyone or anything.'
But the plans were on display.'
On display? I eventually had to go down to the cellar to find them.'
`That's the display department.'
`With a torch.'
`Ah, well the lights had probably gone.'
`So had the stairs.'
`But look you found the notice didn't you?'
`Yes,' said Arthur, `yes I did. It was on display in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a disused lavatory with a sign on the door saying "Beware of The Leopard".'"

Scutatus08 Dec 2011 3:59 p.m. PST

Sentient Bean, old bean, look it is a shame that you have not got your preorder yet. I sympathise with you as far as it goes. I don't know why the book has not been delivered yet.It could be (and I am guessing here) that the book has only just begun to be sold and it has not yet reached Australia?

All I know is that GEG are a small operation, essentially run by two very fine fellows, albeit with out of house help. They are open, accessible and until now have met their deadlines and have been jolly good with their communications on forums. They are good chaps, doing a grand job, giving us superlative products. I don't know how your e-mails have slipped through the net but it might well be that they believe that that they spend an unbelievable amount of time keeping people in the loop on the public forums as it is, and if they were to sit down and read through every personal e-mail they received they wouldn't get much running of their business done! Or maybe, for whatever reason, they are not receiving your e-mails at all.

Just because they haven't communicated in a manner that you would have preferred does not mean they did it the "wrong" way. They did not try to ignore the problem, they did not brush it under the carpet. They did not disregard the concerns of their customers. They did not in any way "burn up good will" with anyone that I know of, other than you. If you had used your initiative and done a few moments of searching, even you would have found the info, and even you would not have lost good will towards them.

We are not talking about something "hidden away" here, despite your sarcasm. The information was available, out there for all to see, and was easily found for anyone using just a modicum of effort. There were no figurative cellars, cabinets or lights off. There's no point trying to blame them for your own bone idleness.

Without any prompting, GEG openly and honestly apologised, explained the situation and kept us updated whenever there was a development. It was all there to be found. Searching "Rise and Fall of Persia delays," or even just finding the GEG forums, (not a difficult task) would have got you the information you were seeking. It's not their fault you couldn't be bothered but expected them to give you the information personally.

In the time you have spent whining here you could have discovered the apologies and the explanations for yourself.

The Sentient Bean08 Dec 2011 5:27 p.m. PST

"It could be (and I am guessing here) that the book has only just begun to be sold and it has not yet reached Australia?"

I stopped reading after that.

You obviously don't know how to use functions on "PUBLIC OPENLY ACCESSIBLE FORUMS" (your caps).

If you read Nic Robson's post and then clicked his name, you'd see that he is based in Australia. It must have been "too much bother for you" by your logic.

Scutatus09 Dec 2011 8:15 a.m. PST

Shrug. I did say I was guessing. However, my logic is fine. Australia's a big place and distribution just got started. Just because an Australian retailer has his it does not necessarily mean everyone in the public domain has yet.

Hey, sorry if I'm not crying a river for you, but you've not really gone about things very sensibly. You made a mistake and you've been called on it there's no point slinging mud over it. That really doesn't help.

Can I most constructively and strongly suggest that you go to the GEG forum and either post your enquiry on the forum itself or PM Stuart at GEG. I strongly suspect that you will have more luck that way and get a response there.

The Sentient Bean10 Jan 2012 6:50 p.m. PST

Update: Got a response and a copy with mini was sent to me and arrived last week.

Must say that I'm not too impressed with the product as it is really just a collection of army lists. Was expecting a little more than that but given the scope of the subject, perhaps I expected too much.

Seen most of the pics in the book on blogs or forums I believe.

Quality of the book overall seems a bit average.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.