Rules Clarifications

This web page exists to answer rules questions for players of Fields of Honor. Most answers are official (that is, direct from the publisher or the designer); unofficial answers are marked as such.

If you have rules questions, please email them to us and we'll try to get an official answer for you.

Q: Please explain the out numbered by enemy 2:1 modifier. When is that determined? Does units in the rear get that modifier?

A: The 2:1 melee modifier is calculated during the Melee Phase after the units contact in a charge. It is a comparison of the number of stands.

Example: Two ten-stand native units charge a five stand British unit. If both make contact during the charge phase and are still there at full strength in the melee phase the odds would be 2:1 and they would get the modifier.

[Answer by Bob Rodgers ( on the FOH mailing list]

Q: If two units (non-charging) comes into contact during movement, do they go to melee?

A: No. The units must stop one inch away. Only charging units may contact enemy units.

[Answer by Bob Rodgers ( on the FOH mailing list]

Q: Why doesn't artillery pay a firing penalty for moving?

A: Artillery may not move and fire in the same turn. The only exception is if it is handpushed.

[Answer by Bob Rodgers ( on the FOH mailing list]

Q: If a two-member Maxim machine gun crew loses one crew member, is its fire penalized for the loss?

A: Machine guns and artillery should be mounted with four crew figues per stand. Both may take three hits before they have to fire at half strength. On the fourth hit they are eliminated. If you're mounting the MG's with only two crewmen, just remember that the stand can take four hits.

[Answer by Bob Rodgers ( on the FOH mailing list]

Q: I want to play "Fields of Honor" using 25mm figures at Battlion level. What is the conversion numbers or formula to go from 15mm to 25mm. What is the 25mm base size, movement, weapon ranges, scale number etc. There is nothing in the rules about 25mm scale.

A: It's not stated in the rulebook, but the suggested base size and other game distances are intended for 15mm miniatures. These should be modified proportionally for anything that is larger or smaller. Therefore, multiply everything by 1.666 to go from 15mm to 25mm scale.

It may be more convenient to use other factors, such as 1.5 or 2.0. Frank Frey ( suggests:

The best way, in my opinion, to use 25mm for FOH is to use the following mountings:
  • Infantry: 60mm x 30mm
  • Cavalry: 60mm x 60mm
  • Artillery: 25mm x 25mm for each gunner.
  • Mounted Command Figure: 30mm x 60mm

Double all ranges and movement.

These base sizes are larger than the ones you would get by multiplying the bases by 1.5 but they make it easier to repair/repaint troops without having to take them off the stands.

Q: When dismounting cavalry you are supposed to keep track of the number of figures in the unit, rather than the number of stands. So 12 cavalry (6 stands, 6 attack dice) become 12 dismounted cavalry (4 stands, 4 attack dice; or with horse holders, 3 stands, 3 attack dice.)

Have I understood the above correctly? I know there is a penalty for mounted troops firing but that hardly seems to overcome the volume of fire possible for mounted vs. foot troops.

A: We have been playing that mounted get a die per stand and then take the mounted modifier. We questioned it at first like you are but finally decided to play that way and it seems to work out OK.

[Answer by Bob Rodgers ( on the FOH mailing list]

Q: I want to use individually based figures (Plains Wars.) Is it intended that BMU's get one attack dice per multiples (and remaining fractions) of 3 per foot and 2 per mounted?

A: Yes, as far as I can tell. You could try mounting your single figures on magnets and using metal bases when you want to make multiple figure stands.

[Answer by Bob Rodgers ( on the FOH mailing list]

Q: How many ranks can fire in line formation?

A: Only the front rank may fire in line formation. We are redoing 1:1 Scale (skirmish rules) for the "Legacy of Honor" book, and in that case only, a front rank may kneel to allow the second rank to fire.

Q: How many stands in a mob can fire?

A: Any stand that has a line of sight to the target may fire. Those that do not have LOS may fire on other targets if they wish.

Q: Can you charge even if it is obvious you cannot reach the target, and what is the effect?

A: You could, but it is not to your benefit to do so. If you get the charge off, you move to the limit of your move and stop. You may not fire. If you fail the charge roll, you may move half your allowance and fire with half your dice.

Q: Is march column to skirmish line 1 or 2 formation changes?

A: Every change in a unit's formation costs 1/4 move. In this case, there are two ways to go about it. If the column wanted to become a line, it could do so (1/4 move), and then break out into skirmish (subtract another 1/4 move.) However, an easier way to do it is to simply break the march column into skirmishers. Since skirmishers have no real formation, they can instantly move into what is effectively a line (though it is not really a line.) The total cost of doing it this way is simply -1/4 move.

Q: Do attack column KN modifiers apply to march columns? (March columns need to have some penalty.)

A: Attack columns have no penalties to their melee rolls. If you look on the Melee Modifiers Chart, you will see that March Columns have a +2 Penalty.

Q: If a BMU has 3 permanent hits, does it automatically lose one stand, or does it assign the hits among the stands -- for instance, 1 hit each to 3 stands?

A: The unit would lose one stand.

Q: When during the Morale Phase does hit resolution take place? Does it come before morale results such as rout or pursuit, or after?

A: The order is this:

Q: Does the morale modifier "being charged" apply only to units during the Charge Phase, or does it mean "charged this turn"?

A: This modifier applies only to those morale tests being made in the Charge Phase.

Q: When a unit is being charged and it opts to Form Square but fails the Morale Roll, the rules state that it becomes suppressed but is treated as if it Stands and Fires. Does this mean that the unit immediately retreats, as if it had failed the Stand and Fire morale check; or does the unit stay where it is?

A: The unit stays where it is, and may fire -- though with a movement penalty (+1.)

Q: What are the effects of having a sub-commander without Orders? Does this mean that all of his troops act as if in Garrison?

A: Yes.

Q: When a sub-commander has an Order, how does this affect his BMUG? Do at least half of the BMU's need to be given the same Order?

A: A sub-commander rules a BMUG. He may write individual orders to each of his units, though they must all be geared to accomplish HIS orders. A sub-commander told to advance to a hill, for instance, would need to move at least half his units toward the hill. The individual units do not need separate orders unless they wish to depart from his command radius.

Q: The set-up for the Battle of the Alma seems incorrect.

A: The Battle of the Alma is a misprint. The Russians are, of course, in the redoubts.

Q: The unit values given in the appendix for the Mexican-American War seem suspect - were the American regulars no better than the Mexicans?

A: The defects will be corrected in the next edition.

Last Updates
6 October 1999more updates
21 October 1998Frank Frey's basing suggestions
16 October 1998answers on scale conversions
3 July 1996reformatted
9 April 1996reorganized
Comments or corrections?