Help support TMP


"Query on Guillotine card game" Topic


6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please do not post offers to buy and sell on the main forum.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Boardgames Plus Board


Areas of Interest

General

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Showcase Article

The 4' x 6' Assault Table Top

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian begins to think about terrain for Team Yankee.


Featured Profile Article

Is This Useful? Disco Tiles

Could mirror tiles improve your wargaming tabletop?


Current Poll


72 hits since 14 Aug 2025
©1994-2025 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Last Hussar14 Aug 2025 1:44 p.m. PST

How do/would you play this.

In the Guillotine card game a turn is…
1) You MAY play an action card – this may rearrange the line.
2) Execute the noble at head of the line.
3) Take an action card (whether you played one or not)

One of the Noble cards is 'Master Spy' with the rule.
"After each action card is played, move this card to the end of the line".

How would/do you play this?
1) Action Card is played – Action taken – Move Spy
OR
2) Action Card is played – Move Spy – Action taken

Personal logo John the OFM Supporting Member of TMP14 Aug 2025 4:37 p.m. PST

Kill ‘em all. Let God sort out the just.

Personal logo 20thmaine Supporting Member of TMP14 Aug 2025 6:43 p.m. PST

We always used Option 1.

To me Option 2 is actually – Action card is announced – move spy – Action Taken.

It's the implementation of the Action that is the playing of the card

Personal logo etotheipi Sponsoring Member of TMP15 Aug 2025 4:12 a.m. PST

Agree, it's the first one.

Playing the card is displaying it and executing it, not just laying it down.

Among other things, this means using a card to move the Spy to the front of the line doesn't work, because he is moved to the front of the line.

The French version says:

"Après chaque carte action jouée, déplacez cette carte à la fin de la ligne."

"Jouée" is past participle instead of the English present participle, so playing is definitely in the past before moving the spy. Also, in French rules, jouée is pretty much used to mean taking action, and would use different words. Thank you Edmond Hoyle.

And taking a head is a separate section than playing a card; it is not a seamless action. The playing of the card and its action is complete before claiming the noble.

PDF link

Last Hussar15 Aug 2025 11:00 a.m. PST

Just checking – Thanks.

So the Spy will always be at the end of the line.

Personal logo etotheipi Sponsoring Member of TMP15 Aug 2025 4:18 p.m. PST

Well, no.

If you don't choose to play an action card and he's at the front, then you could end up claiming him.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.