|Thresher01 ||26 Jun 2020 9:06 a.m. PST|
It would be nice to know how the two systems are different, and how each works for gaming.
|martin goddard ||26 Jun 2020 10:07 a.m. PST|
Thanks for the interest
Here is some detail about the newer version. The two versions have nothing in common except the base sizes. that way we do not make any player's army from edition 1 outdated.
Here is a battle report on the rules as they got o the final stages of development.
Hope that gives a bit of insight.
Been a "bad day at black rock today" but I will get back on the TMP at the weekend. Ready for more questions
|GGouveia||26 Jun 2020 11:40 a.m. PST|
Martin does it have all the scenarios like the original Bloody Barons?
|Thresher01 ||26 Jun 2020 1:36 p.m. PST|
Thank you for the info, links, and quick response.
I really appreciate it.
Sorry to hear about all the bullying as well.
You have my full support.
|Antioch||26 Jun 2020 3:27 p.m. PST|
Have a set of the new rules…sadly with all going on haven't gotten together with my gaming buddy in crime. But the new rules look good & I suspect a lot of fun.
Look forward to playing.
|martin goddard ||27 Jun 2020 4:42 a.m. PST|
George , yes it does have all the battles.
Obviously re- written in the light of more recent research (Bosworth as an example of this re-write).
You can still use all the figures built for the first edition. In addition base sizing is not very important.
One great feature (I believe) is that each unit is considered as 8 increments.
I use four bases and they die half base at a time.
If you have a bigger collection you could use 8 bases per unit and let them "die" by the base.
If using individually based figues one could use 8 figures etc….
|GamesPoet ||27 Jun 2020 6:28 a.m. PST|
Ordered, and I look forward to reading them.
|greenknight4 ||27 Jun 2020 6:38 a.m. PST|
Ah the GamesPoet beat me. I too ordered a set pdf version to help you out Martin. I have always enjoyed your posts here and have a lot of your rules.
RFCM are wonderful.
I advertise and subscribe here folks so come and get me :)
| Stosstruppen ||27 Jun 2020 12:29 p.m. PST|
Placed my rules order today. Once i get them and map out the figures I need I'll get those ordered as well.
|martin goddard ||27 Jun 2020 2:35 p.m. PST|
|coopman||27 Jun 2020 3:46 p.m. PST|
Ordered & received. Thanks.
|Gray Bear||27 Jun 2020 6:38 p.m. PST|
|nsolomon99||28 Jun 2020 3:52 a.m. PST|
Ordered my copy too, hang in there Martin, resist the denizens of the web.
|GGouveia||28 Jun 2020 8:24 a.m. PST|
Martin, what is all this dark talk of denizens of the web etc.?
Also I ordered the pdf on Friday, was I supposed to have received it already? Or is the pdf still a WIP?
|martin goddard ||28 Jun 2020 8:26 a.m. PST|
Thank you for the orders chaps!
|Eumelus ||29 Jun 2020 11:56 a.m. PST|
Got my pdf and I'm liking what I'm reading. Already planning out the conversion of my 28mm armies.
I do have one rules question – in the Shooting and Combat rules, it states that re-rolls are permitted. I can't find any description of what circumstances allow re-rolls; the implication seems to be that they're always permitted, in which case I don't know why you wouldn't always re-roll misses.
|Colonel Bogey||29 Jun 2020 1:25 p.m. PST|
I've found this to be a great ruleset. Once you get into it, the mechanisms are very straightforward, but the game itself is far from simplistic. Great fun, and it looks very good on the tabletop too.
|martin goddard ||29 Jun 2020 2:02 p.m. PST|
Re-rolls are always allowed.
However a re-roll is all (every one)the dice rolled again. This is what is new to many wargamers.
It is not a re-roll of failures it is a re -roll of every D6 rolled.
That means if you rolled 5D6 and decide to re-roll you must pick up those 5D6 and re-roll ALL of them.
Bloody barons is full of new ideas that take some getting used to.
This is where decision making comes in.
e.g you roll 7 D6 and get 2 successes (on 5,6).
Would you re-roll or not?
If a re-roll might be very useful I might risk it. But what if the result were worse? Cautious/realistic or rash/gamble??
e.g You roll 7D6 and get 5 successes. Probably not a good idea to re-roll. But are you desperate for 6 successes as that would give a win in the current fight??