
"Nuts! Big Battles goes to Normandy" Topic
6 Posts
All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.
For more information, see the TMP FAQ.
Back to the Solo Wargamers Message Board Back to the 15mm WWII Message Board Back to the WWII Battle Reports Message Board
Areas of InterestGeneral World War Two on the Land World War Two at Sea
Featured Link
Top-Rated Ruleset
Featured Showcase Article Heavy machineguns for the Russians.
Featured Profile Article
Current Poll
Featured Book Review
|
Korvessa | 30 Jul 2025 4:00 p.m. PST |
A one-off Nuts! Big Battles scenario in normandy pitting the 507/82 vs. various elements of 91st Airlanding. Detilas here: link
|
Just Jack | 30 Jul 2025 7:35 p.m. PST |
My goodness, Jeff, you've really outdone yourself here with Big Battles! Great table, great minis, and a real slobber-knocker of a fight! Man, the way you kept surfacing new PEFs/German units, it's wonder any of the Airborne troopers survived, much less held the ground! When the "panzers" showed up I kinda laughed, but they proved crappy tanks beat no tanks, and when they drove B Company from the field I thought the whole battalion was going to fold. One question: why not use Colonel Millet as another leader up near the front to bolster/rally the troops? Great stuff man, thanks for sharing. V/R, Jack |
Korvessa | 30 Jul 2025 9:38 p.m. PST |
Col Millet (507th commander) was on the far side of Amfreville from where this action takes place. He and a good portion of men were captured a day or two after DDay. Or did you mean LtC Timmes (2/507th commander)? I suppose I could have used him, but he was in the rear organzing thngs. ;-) It was a fun game – could easily have gone either way! |
Just Jack | 31 Jul 2025 3:12 p.m. PST |
Yeah, I'm a knucklehead, I meant the battalion commander, Lt Col Timmes. He had three companies in contact, he needs to have his ass up there! ;) I was just curious if there was a rules mechanics reason, like you thought it would make it too easy for the Yanks if you had an extra senior leader around, adding his leader dice. V/R, Jack |
Korvessa | 31 Jul 2025 9:38 p.m. PST |
I don't think leaders have a huge impact on these games. Both parachute captains were Rep5 anyway, so he wouldn't have made a difference. |
korsun0  | 01 Aug 2025 7:28 a.m. PST |
what an excellent read that was, great game. |
|