/mivacommon/member/pass.mv: Line 148: MvEXPORT: Runtime Error: Error writing to 'readers/pass_err.log': No such file or directory [TMP] "IABSM - mortar rules" Topic

 Help support TMP


"IABSM - mortar rules" Topic


3 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please do not use bad language on the forums.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the WWII Rules Message Board


Areas of Interest

World War Two on the Land

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Recent Link


Featured Ruleset


Featured Showcase Article

25mm Soviet Rifle Squad, Advancing

It's hard to find 25mm Russians in the early-war summer uniform, but here they are!


Featured Book Review


Featured Movie Review


947 hits since 8 Nov 2023
©1994-2025 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
captaincold6908 Nov 2023 8:30 a.m. PST

I tried posting this on the IABSM facebook page (it's a dead page) and the Too Fat Lardies (also kinda dead for IABSM) and didn't get any responses, so I'm asking here.

Can I get a fact check on my understanding of mortar rules?

You draw a Big Man or FO card and call in an off board mortar strike (80mm and up)

After the first tea break if I draw the FO or Big Man card I can call in the mortar strike? and every turn where I draw the FO or Big Man card I can call another mortar strike (deviation getting better and better each turn as I'm dialing it in)?

First mortar strike comes on on a 3, then a 2 after that?

Dan in Vermont08 Nov 2023 10:53 a.m. PST

Hi there, big IABSM fan here.
yes to call in the strike you do that with either the most senior big man card or the FO card. When your card is drawn that is when you call in the strike which means you now put the Support One card (or whatever card you assigned to the Mortars) in the deck after the Tea Break card is now drawn. For the next turn, when the Support Card comes up, that is when the fire arrives (see pages 56-58). But before the firing hits you have to dice to see if the fire arrives that turn (see mortars table at bottom of page 57
Note: The FO or BM cards only is used to shift aim point. The actual firing only happens when the Support Card is drawn.

captaincold6908 Nov 2023 11:49 a.m. PST

Thanks Dan

I'm using the CoC dice activation but your explanation confirms how I thought they work.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.