Help support TMP


"Flashing Steel Ranged Combat Question" Topic


6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please use the Complaint button (!) to report problems on the forums.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Renaissance Discussion Message Board

Back to the Swashbuckling Message Board

Back to the Pirates Message Board


Areas of Interest

Renaissance
18th Century
Napoleonic

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Showcase Article

Oddzial Osmy's 15mm Teutonic Crossbowmen 1410

The next Teutonic Knights unit - Crossbowmen!


Featured Profile Article

Editor Julia's 2015 Christmas Project

Editor Julia would like your support for a special project.


Featured Book Review


404 hits since 31 Mar 2022
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
codiver31 Mar 2022 8:27 a.m. PST

A buddy of mine and I are planning on trying Flashing Steel this weekend. Reading the rules, I noticed something that doesn't seem to make sense in the Ranged Combat section: the second entry in the Ranged Combat Modifiers table is "Firing and Moving in same Action -1". I don't understand this. It is an action to move, and it is an action to fire. Separate actions. So how do you fire and move in the same action?

Dave

codiver31 Mar 2022 8:31 a.m. PST

Thought of this after I posted: does it mean "same Activation"?

Andrew Walters31 Mar 2022 9:39 a.m. PST

"Activation" and "Action" are different things.

The activation is when you nominate a figure, decide on a number of dice, and roll. Then, that figure takes as many actions as you had successes on the die roll.

So you could activate a figure, roll two dice, get two successes and thus two actions. If you move and make a ranged attack or vice versa the attack will have a -1 penalty.

codiver31 Mar 2022 12:27 p.m. PST

Andrew,

Thanks for the response. I agree with you completely that "Activation" and "Action" are different. I also agree with your second statement.

However, in my opinion, your third statement demonstrates the modifier should be worded "same Activation", as I thought of after my original post. In your example, one action is Move, one is Ranged Attack. There is no single Move and Ranged Attack ACTION.

Dave

Andrew Walters31 Mar 2022 12:43 p.m. PST

Ah, I apologize, I didn't read your question closely enough.

I looked it over again and can think of only two explanations:

1 – The combat modifier should apply to Activations even though it says "Action", ie it's a type.

2- The Move action says: "inside a Move the model may perform one other activity that may require a voluntary Quality check or a Swashbuckling check." I would normally read that to mean *not* an attack, since that doesn't require a Quality or Swashbuckling check but a combat die roll. That's for knocking something over as you move or whatever. But a much, much more serious typo could mean that this phrase means you can attack while actually moving. That's kind of ridiculous, but it's the only other way I can explain the wording.

So I think it's number one, that's how we always played it.


I looked for a FAQ for Flashing Steel or Song of B&H (which has pretty much the same rules here). Didn't find one, though people said Andreas answers questions on Facebook.

Grattan54 Supporting Member of TMP31 Mar 2022 7:19 p.m. PST

I would says, having played the system many times, that it means activation and not actions.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.