Help support TMP


"CoC Bloody Bucket campaign Turn 7 Skyline Drive" Topic


10 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please don't make fun of others' membernames.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the 20mm WWII Message Board

Back to the WWII Battle Reports Message Board


Areas of Interest

World War Two on the Land
World War Two at Sea

Featured Link


Featured Showcase Article

Hour of Glory: Germans

The Germans arrive for my Hour of Glory.


Featured Workbench Article

Back to the Sands of North Africa

Warcolours Painting Studio Fezian of Warcolours returns to North Africa to paint a British Motor Company.


Featured Profile Article

First Look: Battlefront's Rural Fields and Fences

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian gets his hands on some fields and fences.


Current Poll


Featured Movie Review


397 hits since 1 Apr 2021
©1994-2021 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

TacticalPainter0101 Apr 2021 11:00 p.m. PST

Deja vu for the Volksgrenadiers as they make their third attempt to dislodge the Americans from the crossroads on Skyline Drive in our continuing Bloody Bucket campaign for Chain of Command. It's a tough table to attack with much open ground but we now enter the second day of the campaign and the German support levels increase even further. Can this heroic American platoon hold out once more? The full AAR is here: Campaign Turn 7 Skyline Drive

picture

picture

picture

picture

BillyNM02 Apr 2021 3:15 a.m. PST

This one was always going to stand or fall by your success with the bazooka team – armour is not the best aspect of CoC. On the other hand your opponent may have hoodwinked you on this one. I assume he used a CoC Die to interrupt your bazooka team's disappearing act? I'm pretty sure that's the only way it can be done but also fairly confident you can only interrupt once in a phase.

John Leahy02 Apr 2021 9:05 a.m. PST

I really enjoy reading these! Great looking games. They made me understand HOW the rules actually work and the subtlety to them.

Very well done!

thumbs up thumbs up

Thanks

John

Captain Pete02 Apr 2021 2:04 p.m. PST

This is an interesting campaign to follow. Back in 2016, I played in a 6mm game covering 2nd Panzer's initial assault on the town of Marnach in the opening stages of the Bulge. My friend, Scott, is well versed in the Battle of the Bulge and had even visited the area a while back. He designed the scenario.

TacticalPainter0102 Apr 2021 2:27 p.m. PST

This one was always going to stand or fall by your success with the bazooka team – armour is not the best aspect of CoC. On the other hand your opponent may have hoodwinked you on this one. I assume he used a CoC Die to interrupt your bazooka team's disappearing act? I'm pretty sure that's the only way it can be done but also fairly confident you can only interrupt once in a phase.

I think you may be right although it's possible to argue this both ways. The rules section covering an ‘Interrupt' makes no mention of using a CoC dice this way during an ambush. It does, on the other hand make it very clear that there can be only one interrupt per phase. The section on Ambush says this:

"If the player's opponent has troops on Overwatch covering the area from which the ambush is made, they may fire after the ambushing Team has fired and before the ambushers are removed at the end of the Phase. Likewise, the opposing player may choose to use a Chain of Command Dice to interrupt if he has troops who can fire on the ambushers before they are removed."

That could be read to mean a player can use a CoC die in place of having a unit on overwatch and if several units on overwatch can fire, why then could you not use up several CoC dice to have more than one unit fire? However I think the answer probably lies in the last sentence and use of the term interrupt (to get pedantic, you could argue whether it means an ‘interrupt action' as per the rules or it is simply using the term interrupt to express the action of firing before the unit can escape?). In the end I'm not sure it would have made a big difference to the overall outcome but I suspect that second shot should not have been permitted.

BillyNM02 Apr 2021 10:06 p.m. PST

I agree, if only TFL had capitalised ‘interrupt' the same way as ‘Overwatch' then it would be pretty unambiguous. Likewise, as you say, it probably only accelerated rather than changed the final outcome. Thinking about it some more, the decisive event was probably the reinforcements failing to get through; a Sherman and two more bazooka teams would really have tested the Germans.

TacticalPainter0102 Apr 2021 10:56 p.m. PST

Thinking about it some more, the decisive event was probably the reinforcements failing to get through; a Sherman and two more bazooka teams would really have tested the Germans.

It wouldn't have changed this game. Reinforcements arrive from the west and initially can be allocated to maps 4,5 & 6. Once there they need to wait until a later turn to move to maps 2 & 3 and then another turn before reaching map 1. So two reasons why they wouldn't help – it would take too long to get there, but more significantly, with the German capture of map 2 in the previous turn any route to map 1 is now blocked, so that platoon was always going to have to fight with what it had.

BillyNM03 Apr 2021 2:59 a.m. PST

Thanks, I obviously hadn't read it properly.
Good luck in the next fight, not that I want his campaign to end.

foxbat05 Apr 2021 2:04 a.m. PST

Once again, a most interesting read, thanks for sharing.
Rule wise, I'd tend to agre with BillyNM's interpretation. That clarifies a very interesting point for me on ambushes (hopefully I'll get a game of my own soon).

I'd also like to ask you a question : do you take your photographs during a game, or do you do a photo session after it? Your pics are exceptional, so sharp, well-balanced colours, without any game clutter left on the tabel, that I'm wondering whether you take the time to reshoot them after the game itself.

TacticalPainter0105 Apr 2021 3:52 a.m. PST

I'd also like to ask you a question : do you take your photographs during a game, or do you do a photo session after it? Your pics are exceptional, so sharp, well-balanced colours, without any game clutter left on the tabel, that I'm wondering whether you take the time to reshoot them after the game itself.

Not the first time I've been asked this! All pictures are taken as we play, no "re-enactments". We like our tables to be clear of clutter, nothing breaks the immersion more than that sort of thing. In fact I rely on the photos as much as my notes to remember what happened and in what sequence.

All pictures are taken with an iPhone 11, the game room is lit with cool white bulbs, other than that I may occasionally manipulate an image if there's too much shadow but the vast majority are straight off the phone.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.