Help support TMP


"French AWI Tactical Accounts" Topic


7 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the American Revolution Message Board


Areas of Interest

18th Century

Featured Hobby News Article


Top-Rated Ruleset


Featured Showcase Article

1:700 Black Seas British Brigs

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian paints brigs for the British fleet.


Featured Workbench Article


Featured Profile Article

Herod's Gate

Part II of the Gates of Old Jerusalem.


Current Poll


359 hits since 12 Jan 2021
©1994-2021 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

MiniPigs12 Jan 2021 10:47 a.m. PST

Is there a single book which handles all of the French army's military actions from a tactical viewpoint in the AWI? I would prefer a secondary account in the tradition of Haythorthwaite, Duffy or Traine. Hopefully, it would include unit deployment,maps, combat descriptions, casualties, OOB etc.

I haven't found one in English but maybe there is something in French I haven't heard of?

historygamer Supporting Member of TMP12 Jan 2021 11:08 a.m. PST

I thought a new book on the French in the AWI came out recently.

Not sure if this is it, or not:

link

historygamer Supporting Member of TMP12 Jan 2021 12:05 p.m. PST

Might be another book, as that one appears to have come out in 2017, if I am reading the thing correctly.

MiniPigs12 Jan 2021 1:23 p.m. PST

@historygamer

You mean this book?:

link

It's not out yet.

Thank you for your first recommendation I'll check it out.

I am still hopeful there is someone who covered the battles involving the French that is organized more like these books; purely military with an emphasis on day of battle tactics and anecdotes:

link

link

Brechtel198 Supporting Member of TMP12 Jan 2021 1:49 p.m. PST

Wood's book is excellent and highly recommended.

historygamer Supporting Member of TMP12 Jan 2021 3:48 p.m. PST

Yep, that's it. Need to get it.

Durban Gamer13 Jan 2021 3:40 a.m. PST

If the focus is on French tactics and formations, battles at St Kitts and Cuddalore should also be considered.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.