Help support TMP


"LOTR stategy battle game rules question" Topic


5 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please do not post offers to buy and sell on the main forum.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Fantasy RPG Message Board

Back to the Fantasy Discussion Message Board


Areas of Interest

Fantasy

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Link


Featured Ruleset


Featured Showcase Article

Mage Knight Gorgons Rebased

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian digs into his stash of discounted collectible pre-paints.


Featured Profile Article

Dungeon Spotted at Five Nations

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian spies an interesting 'underground' gaming table.


Featured Book Review


957 hits since 9 Sep 2020
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
Daniel Pickering10 Sep 2020 11:11 a.m. PST

Hello all,
I am wondering whether cavalry figures can use a two handed weapon while mounted. I seem to remember reading somewhere that they cannot. There are at least two cavalry figures that I know about with two handed weapons sculpted on…Thrydan Wolfsbane Dunlending Chief (with twohanded axe) and Nazgul Dwimmerlaik (with twohanded sword). What is the rule
Thanks

John the OFM10 Sep 2020 11:55 a.m. PST

Think about it.
Aren't those weapons for when you dismount and fight on foot?

Stew art Supporting Member of TMP10 Sep 2020 2:08 p.m. PST

No. No use of 2h while mounted is the rule. Those models might have *special* rules though that allow them too. I dunno.

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian10 Sep 2020 2:59 p.m. PST

bows

CeruLucifus13 Sep 2020 4:31 a.m. PST

Don't know the game rules but see this trailer for Kurosawa's "The Hidden Fortress": YouTube link

In the first scene, Toshiro Mifune rides after some poor sap, standing in the saddle with his weapon two-handed. In the next shot he completes the stroke one-handed, but his other arm splays out for balance and does not hold the reins at any time.

For me this pretty much settled the nonsense about "can't use a two-handed weapon on horseback because you need a hand to steer", at least for heroic characters. You steer with your knees so you can use both hands.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.