Help support TMP


"Do you represent Headquarters on your miniature table?" Topic


31 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Historical Wargaming in General Message Board

Back to the TMP Poll Suggestions Message Board


Action Log

06 Aug 2020 11:25 a.m. PST
by Editor in Chief Bill

  • Changed starttime from
    06 Aug 2020 7:41 a.m. PST
    to
    06 Aug 2020 7:41 a.m. PSTCrossposted to Historical Wargaming in General board

Areas of Interest

General

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Showcase Article

GallopingJack Checks Out The Terrain Mat

Mal Wright Fezian goes to sea with the Terrain Mat.


Featured Profile Article


760 hits since 5 Aug 2020
©1994-2021 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

companycmd06 Aug 2020 6:41 a.m. PST

Do you represent Division or Corps Headquarters on your miniature table?

cavcrazy06 Aug 2020 7:02 a.m. PST

Yes.

Yesthatphil06 Aug 2020 7:10 a.m. PST

Yes, yes, yes and yes … depending on the level of engagement being represented (but operational games such as NQM or Megablitz would commonly depict an Army or Front engagement, and Div and Corps HQ and assets would commonly be on the table)

Phil
P.B.Eye-Candy

Personal logo T Callahan Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 7:11 a.m. PST

Yes I do for both ACW an Napoleonic.

Terry

DisasterWargamer Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 7:16 a.m. PST

Sometimes

Personal logo War Artisan Sponsoring Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 7:51 a.m. PST

Absolutely.

IronDuke596 Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 8:02 a.m. PST

Yes, of course.

Andrew Walters06 Aug 2020 8:36 a.m. PST

I think the question is not a question but a poll suggestion.

If this is a poll question, I think it could use more context. Ogre is a tactical game where the CP is the entire point, so even though it's essentially two companies fighting each other the regional HQ is represented.

Otherwise, there's no place for an HQ in a tactical game (outside of scenario fluff) or a naval game. And at a divisional or corps level game it's a pretty basic rule set that would omit the HQ.

So in what context is the question interesting? We should nail that down so we get a good poll, instead of a vague question people could be answering with differing assumptions, thus rendering the final results pretty meaningless.

HMS Exeter06 Aug 2020 8:37 a.m. PST

Almost always, in some form or other.

Frederick Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 8:46 a.m. PST

Yes – for my Napoleonic and ACW gaming they are actually essential to the gaming

Personal logo Doctor X Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 9:09 a.m. PST

Depends on the scale of the game.

robert piepenbrink Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 10:04 a.m. PST

Not usually in 1:1 skirmishes, or even in brigade actions. As Mr. Walters suggests, a little context is called for. Usually there's a command figure for one or more levels of command. I usually top out at three--the Big Cheese, his minions, and their flunkies. A separate headquarters element means there's serious staff, losing it would have an impact on the game, and it moves a lot slower than the C.O. I'd say that starts with corps HQ in the mid-19th Century and is down to the division HQ by the World Wars.

Naturally, if it's a skirmish game and you're running commandos trying to shoot up an enemy HQ or assassinate a commander, things are different.

And of course the poll question will not be modified to reflect any of this.

14Bore06 Aug 2020 11:35 a.m. PST

Besides the commander I often have a tent city I use for the commander.

RudyNelson06 Aug 2020 12:45 p.m. PST

Yes, in all of my pre-2000 rules, we designated players, HQ, and other subordinates.

gamershs06 Aug 2020 2:01 p.m. PST

Depends on game scale. If ACW and Division on table then yes. If WW2 and Battalion on table then Bn HQ yes but Brigade HQ or higher no. Theoretically a Patton or Rommel my drive up in a staff car but that would be for a break in the game and not as an objective.

Personal logo ColCampbell Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 5:06 p.m. PST

Yes, depending on the "scale" of the game. Definitely for Napoleonic, American Civil War, and Franco-German War.

Jim

Oberlindes Sol LIC Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 7:24 p.m. PST

Even in science fiction skirmish games, I'll have platoon and company commanders with commo operators and maybe couple of troopers for security.

Personal logo Narratio Supporting Member of TMP06 Aug 2020 10:17 p.m. PST

At anything above skirmish level, yes.

Martin Rapier06 Aug 2020 11:00 p.m. PST

Yes, almost all the time, even if it is just part of the scenery.

Uparmored07 Aug 2020 12:56 a.m. PST

Platoon command element will be represented in my future 20mm games..

Maybe a company commander, A Captain will show up sometimes…

Joes Shop Supporting Member of TMP07 Aug 2020 4:41 a.m. PST

Yes

Shagnasty Supporting Member of TMP07 Aug 2020 9:37 a.m. PST

Y3s. I have Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance camps with a command tent. I have an ACW camp for only one side but have wagons, tents and supplies if I ever get around to it. The current crises have sapped my painting and creative drives.

gamershs07 Aug 2020 1:18 p.m. PST

At worst the command can make the game look more interesting.

With the newer rules commanders are integrated and become part of the game. Example, did the general issue you an order and how long will it take for that order to arrive. This stops crazy situations like troops on one flank reacting to a situation on the other flank some distance away.

I also have camps for some of my armies and I have a Union and confederate (ACW) band for each army (on one stand – a "bandstand")

Personal logo etotheipi Sponsoring Member of TMP08 Aug 2020 3:00 a.m. PST

I mostly play skirmish games, so when the HQ is there, it is not really functioning as the HQ, but as an objective with various tactical skirmish units and HVU.

Some additional context would be the type of force. For example, are the capo and his lieutenants of a drug cartel a division or corps HQ? What counts as a "division" not only varies from milieu to milieu, but also varies within a milieu for different forces.

Otherwise, there's no place for an HQ in a tactical game (outside of scenario fluff) or a naval game

I've never been in a naval battle group that didn't have its HQ deployed onboard. I don't play a lot of modern naval games, but when I do, the HQ is on the board. I understand that's the same for Age of Sail games.

Legion 409 Aug 2020 2:52 p.m. PST

We normally play Bn/Bn TF+ … so no … no HQ larger than Rgt Cdr…

UshCha12 Aug 2020 11:00 a.m. PST

NO! I don't play at that level. our system always has to have a top for the level command element and not just for show he is an intrinsic part of the system. The higher you go up the more the game top level moves from tactics to Logistics. Amateurs concentrate on tactics, professionals on logistics as they say.

oldjarhead12 Aug 2020 12:17 p.m. PST

Play SAtF so no headquarters as such, but I have ammunition mules, and if enough troops a water cart or GS wagon etc as target for attackers.

Personal logo COL Scott ret Supporting Member of TMP14 Aug 2020 8:29 p.m. PST

I depict the active units, usually battalions with their brigade hq, if multiple brigades are on the table then divisional hq as well

138SquadronRAF Supporting Member of TMP17 Sep 2020 10:03 a.m. PST

Yes.

The Last Conformist17 Sep 2020 8:49 p.m. PST

I rarely play in eras where there are such things as corps and divisions, much less corps and division HQs.

Uesugi Kenshin Supporting Member of TMP18 Sep 2020 12:11 p.m. PST

Sci Fi I do Company or "Chapter" (think Battalion") Hq's.

In WWII nothing higher than Major.

In Ancients, Medieval & Samurai I include army Commanders, or the equivalent of Generals.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.