Help support TMP

"OGRE Designer’s Edition question" Topic

9 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Remember that you can Stifle members so that you don't have to read their posts.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Miniature Boardgames Message Board

Back to the SF Product Reviews Message Board

Areas of Interest

Science Fiction
Toy Gaming

Featured Hobby News Article

Featured Recent Link

Featured Ruleset

Featured Showcase Article

Featured Profile Article

Jot Wood Magnet

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian finds bases at the dollar store!

1,467 hits since 9 May 2020
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

USAFpilot09 May 2020 9:56 a.m. PST

I received the OGRE Designer's Edition as a gift from my brother who got it off eBay (new but opened). After assembling the Ogres and placing them in the storage tray, I noticed that there were some open spaces. I was wondering if I was missing some models or is this just extra space.

Also I had a question about the rules. In the sequence the first step is recovery of disabled units before the last enemy turn. Does this mean that your units that were just disabled now get to recover, or do they have to sit out one full turn then recover. I'm confused on the syntax in the word "before", and it seems that if a unit was only disabled and immediately gets recovered at the start of your turn then being disabled had no real effect.

Personal logo Parzival Supporting Member of TMP09 May 2020 12:12 p.m. PST

Disabled units have to sit out a turn. The language is "before the enemy's last turn," which means units that were disabled during the entirety of the enemy's turn, not merely units the enemy disabled on its turn. The point is that units can become disabled by their own actions on their own turn (ramming being the primary example).

So it works like this:

Enemy's Turn. He shoots and disables one of your units (Unit A).
Your turn. The disabled unit does not recover (it was disabled on the enemy's turn, not before). You ram the enemy, disabling an additional one of your units (Unit B).
Enemy's Turn. You have two disabled units on the board; A & B. He ignores these and shoots an active unit, disabling it (Unit C).
Your Turn. Unit A and Unit B both recover, as they were disabled before the Enemy's last turn. Unit C remains disabled.

And so on.

As for the trays, I don't know (I don't own that edition), but as there were several supplements in the original Kickstarter, I suspect that extra trays were part of the box to allow for easy storage for those who sprang for the expansion sets, which weren't boxed.

USAFpilot09 May 2020 12:45 p.m. PST

Thanks Parzival, excellent explanation of the rules. Your example really helped.

Mirosav09 May 2020 3:23 p.m. PST

As I remember it there was extra room in the trays for the various add-ons that were available.

Tgerritsen Supporting Member of TMP10 May 2020 3:29 a.m. PST

Yes, I was part of the Kickstarter, and the extra room was for expansions so you didn't have to have a separate box.

Andrew Walters10 May 2020 9:30 a.m. PST

There is extra room, but if you bought extra stuff it is not nearly sufficient…

The way I remember Disabled is that the attacker gets another chance to shoot at them before they recover. So I disable your unit, it does nothing during your turn, it's still disabled on my turn and if I get a D result again, it's gone. If I fail to finish it off, it's back, good as new. One turn to finish it off is the easiest way for me to remember it.

Personal logo aegiscg47 Supporting Member of TMP10 May 2020 9:43 a.m. PST

Here's the list of what were called sponsored counter sheets:

Some of these may be hard to find now, and while I have almost all of them the oe I am short on sells for quite a lot on Ebay. Once all of them are assembled, it will certainly fill up your insert trays. These sheets include the Japanese empire's forces, Vatican Guard, mercenaries, Ogres in arctic camouflage, additional terrain pieces, and much, much more.

USAFpilot10 May 2020 4:03 p.m. PST

Thanks guys. I've noticed a few differences in the rules from the 6th edition (which I have now played 4 times), and the designers edition which I'm currently reading. The designer edition allows stacking; whereas the 6th edition only allows stacking of up to 3 squads of infantry. Also there are over run rules as an option to replace ramming. So my question to veteran players is which rule options do you prefer.

Personal logo Parzival Supporting Member of TMP11 May 2020 8:26 a.m. PST

You're seeing the difference between Ogre (the original game) and GEV (more or less the original expansion). Ogre was originally written as a straightforward Lone Monster Cybertank vs. Scrappy (Under)Manned Force "pocket wargame." GEV expanded the game to allow for rival SF armies warring against each other, and thus introduced rules to cover what happens when it's not always Ogre vs. Whatever, but Whatever vs. Whatever. Hence the more complicated overrun rules, etc..
If you're just doing the classic Ogre scenario, ignore the GEV alterations. When you decide to pursue army vs. army scenarios, bring ‘em into play.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.