Help support TMP


"Tactica II Elephant Depth Bonus?" Topic


7 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Ancients Discussion Message Board


Areas of Interest

Ancients

Featured Hobby News Article


178 hits since 7 Nov 2019
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Lucius07 Nov 2019 8:34 p.m. PST

Had 2 great games today, but a question came up about elephants. 10.7.3 says that elephants can be in more than 1 complete rank if desired. It never says what the depth bonus would be – 1, 2, or 3 dice, per rank? This would happen if a 2-rank elephant hit a 1-rank hastati, for example.

Lucius07 Nov 2019 8:34 p.m. PST

Had 2 great games today, but a question came up about elephants. 10.7.3 says that elephants can be in more than 1 complete rank if desired. It never says what the depth bonus would be – 1, 2, or 3 dice, per rank? This would happen if a 2-rank elephant hit a 1-rank hastati, for example.

DFLange Supporting Member of TMP07 Nov 2019 10:06 p.m. PST

Hi Lucius,

Glad you had a couple of good games. Depth bonus is only available for heavy infantry when fighting massed infantry. See 7.11 in the rules for a full explanation.

Davidjames08 Nov 2019 6:24 a.m. PST

It should surely be common sense that elephants would not have a bonus for depth!

DFLange Supporting Member of TMP08 Nov 2019 11:39 a.m. PST

For a player who is perhaps new to Ancients it may not be common sense, so it is a fair question. Lucius, there is a group that discusses Tactica that you may want to join. The group address is below:

https://groups.io/g/Tactica

Lucius09 Nov 2019 7:42 a.m. PST

Thanks. I was trying to figure out why you would ever deploy elephants in 2 ranks(the rules mention that it is possible to deploy a second rank of elephants).

We didn't ever try it because losing that many impetus dice didn't make sense.

bandrsntch13 Nov 2019 3:42 p.m. PST

Putting elephants into two ranks is really a question of how you intend to deploy them. Since they only wheel two inches, using two ranks would make them more maneuverable. Taking African Elephants as an example, they count as 4 figures per model so would normally only roll eight dice if in two ranks for a four model unit. In one rank you can only have three models wide so a three model unit would roll 12 dice, but would be somewhat less maneuverable.

So if you have a four model unit, they would have to be in two ranks which is important to know when choosing whether you want to deploy a three figure or a four figure unit.

The other option is Elephant Screens which allow you to deploy more than three models but they only fight with three dice per model.

In all cases,if the Elephant happens to get "Impetus" it would double the amount of dice it gets.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.