Help support TMP


"CoC - rules for Commissar/Caid?" Topic


7 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Spanish Civil War Message Board


Areas of Interest

World War Two on the Land

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Ruleset


Featured Showcase Article

First Impressions: Axis & Allies

pmglasser takes a first look at the new Axis & Allies.


Featured Workbench Article

The Tao of Painting Smaller Scales

While painting Minifigs' N-scale WWII Russians, Rodrick Campbell Sponsoring Member of TMP Fezian of Highlander Studios introduces us to his method for smaller scale figures.


Featured Profile Article

Visiting with Wargame Ruins

The Editor takes a tour of resin scenics manufacturer Wargame Ruins, and in the process gets some painting tips...


Current Poll


464 hits since 21 Sep 2019
©1994-2020 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

gengulfus21 Sep 2019 3:05 a.m. PST

Hi – I am playing a CoC Espana mini campaign, and I had a rules query. I can't figure out from the rulebook what the Caid/commissar do when they activate. I know they activate on a 5, but what happens then? They don't seem to have any powers listed.

Thanks

Stephen

batesmotel3421 Sep 2019 6:01 a.m. PST

It's covered on page 44 of the Espana lists available here: link

The pdf contains all the SCW lists plus special rules and support information. They are most useful for Peoples Militia units where they provide the option to upgrade the Jefe de Sección to be a Senior Leader with 3 initiative instead of a superior JL (inferior SL in other lists) who only has 2 activations. Also help for some BTH and with shock.

Chris

stephen m21 Sep 2019 6:50 a.m. PST

All I get is a bunch of lists and eventually a link to a six page rules supplement which doesn't cover commissars. Was all this gathered together in one supplement or has it been discontinued or in ONE of the lists?

Basha Felika21 Sep 2019 7:52 a.m. PST

All the SCW-related lists and supplementary rules were consolidated into a single download. Scroll through the pages on the link above until you find:

"This Year We're Off To Sunny Spain…Again" posted July 2014

Pretty sure you'll find the rules for them there.

gengulfus21 Sep 2019 11:56 a.m. PST

I have the PDF you mention, thanks, and on P44 it gives rules for a Commissar. However, they don't make sense to me (maybe I'm being thick).
It says the Commissar activates on a 5, but they don't appear to do anything when they activate. I role a 5. – I activate my Commissar – what does he do?
The only thing he appears to do on P44 is allow the superior junior leader in the people's militia list to be upgraded to a senior leader – This only applies to people's militia, the 5th regiment list already has senior leaders but you can still have a commissar – they must do something for their 2 support points.

batesmotel3422 Sep 2019 4:34 a.m. PST

I think they're mostly worthwhile if running people's militia since it changes the platoon commander to be a SL with 3 initiatives rather than Superior JL/Inferior SL who only has 2. They also reduce the severity of the bad things happen check for losing a SL to one for a JL, and if they are attached to a unit, they count as 2 men for the one figure and hence make it harder to pin or break the unit.

For what it's worth, I've never found a commmissar worthwhile in any of the versions of Russian/Soviet troop lists in various that I've used. I do think it could be worthwhile for People's Milita although YMMV.

Chris

gengulfus22 Sep 2019 7:57 a.m. PST

I was thinking that there must be a paragraph missing. Most of the similar assets (priest/ religious icon) reduce the effect of shock, so I thought maybe a commissar or Caid would act like a leader who activated on a 5 but only removed shock.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.