Help support TMP

"Pikemen in skirmishes?" Topic

7 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Renaissance Discussion Message Board

Areas of Interest


Featured Hobby News Article

Current Poll

1,055 hits since 8 Aug 2019
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Jcfrog Supporting Member of TMP09 Aug 2019 3:18 a.m. PST

Wondering what pikemen can do in skirmishes, in groups that ate deemed to represent 12-36 men? Does it make sense in "petite guerre"?
As to what if I re use my growing battle trrops for 1620-60s for grand skirmish…
Do we actually know anything beyond opinions?

12thFoot09 Aug 2019 3:49 a.m. PST

Leave their pikes behind and use their swords?

Son of MOOG09 Aug 2019 4:15 a.m. PST

I recall reading in several sources that during sieges the pike men were temporarily issued halbierds or bills. This info was for the English Civil War.
Hope this helps a little.

Tom D

Jcfrog Supporting Member of TMP09 Aug 2019 4:30 a.m. PST

Thought about something like that. Means have to paint more! And forage for spare halberds in 18 mm to put in their hands. Aie.

Puster Sponsoring Member of TMP09 Aug 2019 9:33 a.m. PST

The Portugese used units in that size in the Indies, notably their conquest of Malacca 1511.

Not sure wether they are mainly usefull in streets, where the enemy cannot outflank them, or in skirmishes with units experienced in fighting pikes.

Personal logo The Beast Rampant Supporting Member of TMP09 Aug 2019 1:17 p.m. PST

The topic comes up here:

TMP link

- but there was another thread where some TMP'ers had so interesting facts. I can't seem to find it…

Jcfrog Supporting Member of TMP10 Aug 2019 2:03 a.m. PST

Best be no pikemen as such. To open the skirmish set of the Perfect Captain, who usually manages to make playable sets well rooted in good historical research. And to those who can't grasp it, yes it is perfectly possible. As Warartisan implies.
If I crourge enough polearms, might paint a few enterprising ex pikemen.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.