Help support TMP


"Sword and Flame QUESTION --wounded in close combat??" Topic


5 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to The Sword and The Flame Message Board


Areas of Interest

19th Century

Featured Hobby News Article


Top-Rated Ruleset

Hordes of the Things


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 


Featured Showcase Article

28mm Acolyte Vampires

Blue Table Painting does some junior vampires for us.


Featured Workbench Article


Featured Profile Article

Council of Five Nations 2010

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian is back from Council of Five Nations.


700 hits since 15 Jun 2019
©1994-2021 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Personal logo Nashville Supporting Member of TMP16 Jun 2019 4:17 p.m. PST

In Fire combat a non-heart is a wound. A diamond kills a previously wounded. What about close combat… There are wounded results …but does anything kill a man wounded in close combat -- other than diamonds in later fire combat ??

Mad Guru Supporting Member of TMP16 Jun 2019 5:03 p.m. PST

No, at least not that I know of.

The one exception to this I've seen is a "House Rule" or possibly an official addendum (we'll see if it's included in the forthcoming 40th anniversary version!) I've seen played with and used in games myself over the years…

This allows British and other European-style regulars to fire on a group of one or more wounded natives IF OTHER WOUNDED NATIVES HAVE ALREADY ATTACKED OTHER TROOPS ON THE BRITISH/EUROPEAN side previously during the game.

The down-side of this for the Brits in question is "wasting" a turn of fire on figures already down on the table, especially when employing the "Limited Ammunition" supplementary rule, but the up-side is not having to worry about taking further casualties when and if your troops have to move over the same ground the Native wounded occupy. Every hit counts as a KILL, resulting in removal of a WIA Native from the table, so no casualty cards need to be flipped.

Obviously this rule only applies if you already employ the "WOUNDED NATIVES" rule, which is IX. D.3 under the CLOSE COMBAT PHASE, on p.29 of the 20th Anniversary Edition.

Personal logo ColCampbell Supporting Member of TMP16 Jun 2019 6:55 p.m. PST

I quote from the "sacred tome" grin from page 29, left column:

"4. If a player loses an individual Close Combat while rolling an unmodified 1 on the die, his figure is killed. If the player loses an individual Close Combat while rolling an unmodified 2 on the die, his figure is wounded. If a player loses an individual Close Combat while rolling a 3 through 6 on the die, his figure temporarily "runs" to the rear of the Combat (or inside a square) and takes no further part in it."

So, no "hit" cards are ever drawn for a Close Combat. Casualties are decided on the die rolls.

Jim

SgtGuinness Supporting Member of TMP17 Jun 2019 2:41 a.m. PST

ColCampbell, you are most correct sir. The only deviation is in the FFL supplement where the close combat is even bloodier.

Nick Pasha17 Jul 2019 3:46 a.m. PST

To add on, figures wounded by fire do not fight in melee.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.