Help support TMP

"Warmaster Medieval Rules Question - Combined Arms" Topic

2 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Toy Gaming Discussion Message Board

Back to the Medieval Discussion Message Board

Areas of Interest

Toy Gaming

Featured Hobby News Article

Top-Rated Ruleset


Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 

Featured Showcase Article

1:48 AMX 10-RC Tank Destroyer

Looking for an armored car with some punch?

Featured Profile Article

Report from Bayou Wars 2006

The Editor heads for Vicksburg...

581 hits since 26 Feb 2019
©1994-2020 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Jerrod26 Feb 2019 10:51 a.m. PST

Question for anybody familiar with Warmaster Medieval Rules:

In a combined Arms unit, Billmen at the front front and longbow to their rear, can somebody explain how the longbow "add their shot" to the front rank.

Does that mean that the Bill-men get a +1 dice per-stand to their attack in Combat (as if the longbowmen were shooting into the melee) … or something totally which case…. what?

Similarly on page 74 diagram 74.3 what does it mean when it says that the "stand behind shoots as part of the unit"… the front Billmen have no ranged ability, so is it trying to say that the rear rank longbow stand gets to "shoot" into combat whilst the front rank Billmen "melee"?

Aquahog27 Feb 2019 2:13 a.m. PST

Essentially it means that a stand of Longbows can lend its ranged attack to a stand of Billmen directly in front of it. Normally a ranged unit is not allowed to shoot if its line of sight is blocked by another unit directly in front of it.

It doesn't affect melee, apart from the Billmen being allowed to use the Longbowmen's ranged attack for defensive fire when charged.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.