Help support TMP

"Round or Square basing?" Topic

9 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Basing Message Board

Areas of Interest

General

387 hits since 11 Feb 2019
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

TheNorthernFront11 Feb 2019 6:37 p.m. PST

I'm just starting out in the middle ages war of the roses and I'm interested in knowing if it's a better idea to base my 28mm army on round bases, square bases, or group bases?

Lucius11 Feb 2019 6:59 p.m. PST

If you are doing massed battles, then I'd go with square bases, 4 infantry or 2 cavalry per base. For skirmish, 1 figure per round base.

Unless your massed rules use WRG basing, in which case, rectangles.

Massed battle vs skirmish is probably the real decision here. Yes, you can put your individual troops on sabots, but I've never been a fan.

Wackmole9 Supporting Member of TMP11 Feb 2019 7:15 p.m. PST

Hi

I would uses round Metal bases, So you can do Small scale actions. Then Uses a Magnetic base for large unit formations.

robert piepenbrink Supporting Member of TMP11 Feb 2019 7:38 p.m. PST

I'll chime in with my usual: small actions and skirmishes should be fought with large figures individually based. If you want to fight Towton or Barnet, get lots of small figures on bases which hold multiples. Many people disagree with me, of course. But it does work.

advocate11 Feb 2019 11:31 p.m. PST

If you want flexibility, round bases plus the handy sabot bases is the way to go.
But first, identify the rules you intend to use.

Dexter Ward12 Feb 2019 3:35 a.m. PST