Help support TMP

"Shock Force / War Engine transport rules - anyone made some?" Topic

4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the SF Discussion Message Board

Areas of Interest

Science Fiction

Featured Hobby News Article

259 hits since 22 Nov 2018
©1994-2020 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Personal logo PzGeneral Supporting Member of TMP22 Nov 2018 8:14 a.m. PST

We dug Shock Force / War Engine out the other day to do a Bongolesia battle and I realized there are no rules for Transporting Infantry in them.

My first thought was give the vehicle the Summon Special Power and the Infantry the Summoned Flaw so the vehicle could roll to "Summon" the Infantry who would then appear next to it (i.e. Dismount).

BUT, the Summon Power specifically states that it can only summon 1 figure per turn…..

So I was wondering if anyone here over the years has come up with Infantry Transport rules for Shock Force / War Engine?



mmessenger22 Nov 2018 9:18 a.m. PST

Nope. Always thought that was a weak spot in an otherwise cool set of rules. I have a vague recollection that Steve Rysmus did some rules up for his Epic 40k take on WarEngine. Might be a starting point for your search.

RKE Steve22 Nov 2018 9:26 a.m. PST

I will see if I have anything next week as I am out of towm

Stryderg22 Nov 2018 9:37 a.m. PST

A lot was discussed on the forum/discussion group. The solution I liked was a new series of tweaks: (this is from memory, so probably not that accurate)

EDGE: Transport 2
Figure may hold up to 2 other man sized figures. May be taken by vehicles or large non-vehicle figures (ie. horses, ogres, etc). In order to dismount, the transport figure must come to a complete stop (ie. not move for the rest of the current turn). The mounted figures may then dismount and move up to 1/2 their movement rate. Both the vehicle and dismounting figures may fire. In order to load figures, the transport must come to a complete stop and the the figures must move next to the transport. At the beginning of the next turn, the figures may climb aboard the transport. The transport may move up to 1/2 it's move value after it is loaded.

Transport 4 and Transport 6 meant the vehicle could hold 4 or 6 troops. I won't even guess what the points value for each was.

I think I still have a lot of the email digests from the yahoo group, but I'm not sure how I could organize all that info.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.