Help support TMP


"Questions re BUA in DBA 3.0" Topic


6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Ancients Discussion Message Board



278 hits since 20 Aug 2018
©1994-2018 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Chazzmak20 Aug 2018 11:57 a.m. PST

I have a couple of questions regarding the following hypothetical situation;
- Defender places a fort (BUA) and garrisons it with an element of spears. Enemy solid blade attacks the fort. Spear roll 4+4 (defending fort) Blade roll 5+6 (lucky blade !). Lose, but not doubled. What happens to the spears. "Destroyed if sacking a city or the defenders of a city,fort or camp or denizens that have sallied etc. etc……" Otherwise:
Recoil.
As far as I can make out from the combat result, the spears should recoil ? What am I missing ? Where do they recoil to ?

- If the spears leave the fort (sally forth) to attack the blades and lose, but not doubled, they are destroyed. Correct ? (Sally Forth is a cartoon character, but I digress). Are the defenders of the fort considered to have sallied forth only in the bound they left the fort.

Thank you for your input.

lkmjbc320 Aug 2018 1:22 p.m. PST

If its total is less than that of its opponent but more than half:
Destroyed if defenders of a city, fort or camp or denizens or camp followers that have sallied or mounted infantry in bad
going.

The Spears are destroyed. Though I think you left out their dice score.

Joe Collins

Chazzmak20 Aug 2018 1:50 p.m. PST

Thanks Joe. Maybe there should be a period instead of a comma after "camp"

lkmjbc320 Aug 2018 2:38 p.m. PST

Three bullet points instead of the "or"s would have been better.
So, to answer your second question…the Spears would recoil if they vacated the fort and lost to the blades. Denizens or camp followers would be destroyed.

Hope that helps…

Personal logo Bobgnar Supporting Member of TMP21 Aug 2018 12:44 p.m. PST

Spears = +4 vs foot, roll 4, and get +4 defending fort = 12
Blades = +5 vs foot, roll 6 = 11

Blades lose, must recoil. Spears just stay put.

am I missing something?

Only Denizens and camp followers "sally forth" standard 12 element garrison just moves out, but if fighting at edge of Fort, cannot recoil back into fort, is destroyed. If a little bit away from fort can recoil back to touch fort.

Why ever vacate a Fort or City if regular army, and lose the defensive bonus?

Denizens (of city, not fort) or camp followers sally forth usually to help some element, not to fight themselves

Chazzmak22 Aug 2018 9:20 a.m. PST

Bobgnar, your math is right, I forgot to add in spears 4 against foot. Should have been rolled "2" not 4.Total 10
As to your question about vacating a fort… I'm a bad general !
I love the game, but unfortunately don't get to play very often.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.