Help support TMP

"Quick Altar of Freedom questions" Topic

3 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the ACW Discussion Message Board

Areas of Interest

American Civil War

266 hits since 23 Jul 2018
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

wpilon24 Jul 2018 7:51 a.m. PST

I'm a bit confused about the interaction of movement, ZOC, and Close Combat.

The rule says "Brigades may not pass within 2 inches of an enemy brigade's front without engaging in shooting of close combat."

So it sounds like when one of my brigades gets within 2 inches of an enemy brigade, I have to either stop, or advance to contact (assuming I have enough movement left, if not, I just have to stop). Is that right?

Later on, the rules say "Close Combats are resolved by the attacker in whatever order he chooses, so they are not simultaneous."

So, I think all close combat takes place (in any desired order) after all movement is finished, right?


6mmACW24 Jul 2018 8:17 a.m. PST

Correct on both counts. If you come within 2" of an enemy brigade you have to either engage them in close combat or stop. There is no "sliding across" the face of an enemy at that range to hit another target or march past them. Too close to ignore at 2".

And yes, the attacker decides the order of his combat resolution AFTER all other movement is done. This may not sound critical at first, but it's quite important since many combats tend to result in compulsory follow ups that trigger more combats. The attacker will want to think carefully about the order his close combats proceed!

wpilon24 Jul 2018 8:30 a.m. PST


Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.