Help support TMP

"Looking for 28mm Caesarian era Javelinemen skirmishers" Topic

18 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Ancients Discussion Message Board

715 hits since 27 Apr 2018
©1994-2018 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

LostPict Supporting Member of TMP27 Apr 2018 9:16 a.m. PST

I am new to the Caesarian civil war era and have just bought Hail Caesar and Age of Caesar supplement. Looks like I need some units of Javelin armed skirmishers for Caesar's legions and wondered who makes appropriate folks for traipsing around Gaul and Germany? Thanks for the help.

Personal logo Bobgnar Supporting Member of TMP27 Apr 2018 11:39 a.m. PST

Phil Barker writes about this army, he says, "skirmishing javelinmen could be Spanish caetrati, German, Numidian or Greek."

Mars Ultor27 Apr 2018 11:54 a.m. PST

I hope that you get some more definitive answers from others, but references that i"ve seen in Caesar often just say "the auxiliaries". He campaigned in Spain and Gaul, so I would _imagine_ that he cut deals with the local friendly tribes used their troops as skirmishers, as he did with their cavalry , which is better documented. That at least was the typical Roman modus operandi. So I would imagine that a wargaming army could have javelinmen from a variety of different places, depending on where they are campaigning.

You can also check some of the DBA lists to see if they list nationalities. IIRC, they are based on Phil Barker's research, which is very reliable as far as I know. HIs book _The Armies and Enemies of Imperial Rome_ (150BC to ??) is found on Ebay for not too much and is a wealth of information.

Edit: Well, Bobgnar writing in simultaneously has his Phil Barker handy. So there you have it.

Mars Ultor27 Apr 2018 11:59 a.m. PST