Help support TMP

"Clarification on what a 'Round of Fire' is?" Topic

4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please don't make fun of others' membernames.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Sharp Practice Message Board

Areas of Interest

American Civil War

Featured Hobby News Article

Featured Link

Top-Rated Ruleset

De Bellis Antiquitatis (DBA)

Rating: gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star gold star 

Featured Workbench Article

Featured Profile Article

Other Games at Council of Five Nations 2011

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian snapped some photos of games he didn't get a chance to play in at Council of Five Nations.

Current Poll

1,169 hits since 10 Apr 2018
©1994-2022 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

TMP logo


Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
SteelViscount11 Apr 2018 4:01 p.m. PST

On p.47 of SP2 it says:

Light Infantry in hard cover ignore the first kill in any round of fire to reflect their better training.

Does a 'round of fire' refer to all the fire taking place in a turn, or every time a Group or Formation fires? It seems that, were it the latter, Light Infantry would be nigh-unkillable in hard cover except against a substantial number of other skirmishers. (Well, with my luck, anyway.)

DJCoaltrain11 Apr 2018 7:16 p.m. PST

Yes, better get more than one kill, or lots of Fatigue, or Roll good in fistacuffe.

bandrsntch11 Apr 2018 9:53 p.m. PST

The term "round of fire" is used in three places in the rules, pages 13, 29 & 47. From its use I think it refers to any round of fire from any unit. So if a formation of three groups fires at a Light Infantry unit of two groups and gets three Kills, two on one and one on the other group, the first kill rolled for is ignored(negated). If another unit fires on the LI later that turn, the first Kill is again ignored. So I think a "round of Fire" is per unit not per Group. (i.e. you don't ignore the first Kill on each Group, just the first one on the Unit/Formation.) Otherwise the LI would be nigh-unkillable in hard cover.

SteelViscount12 Apr 2018 3:54 p.m. PST

Thanks for your help! Presumably then this would also apply to the bow and arrow rules suggested here?

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.