Help support TMP

"Dead Mans Hand Rule Query" Topic

5 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the 19th Century Discussion Message Board

Back to The Old West Message Board

Areas of Interest

19th Century

423 hits since 12 Mar 2018
©1994-2019 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Daniel8913 Mar 2018 3:47 p.m. PST

Good evening all,

Would like some help with rule clarification.

Played a game this evening at the club and getting up close and personal with a shotgun is great. But…

…firing both barrels of a shotgun in a turn (either together or individually) causes an Out of Ammo token to be issued to the character.

So if you are aware that you will be moving in to point blank range for one action and firing both barrels for a second the question is can you choose to use the third action to discard the Out of Ammo token? Or does the Out of Ammo token, regardless of how it is acquired, mean that it is dealt with in the following turn?

Thanks in advance, just want to make sure we're reading the rules correctly

Winston Smith Supporting Member of TMP13 Mar 2018 5:33 p.m. PST

You are trying to Game a situation where common sense should prevail.
Are you seriously suggesting that you can in real life plan to run up to someone and blast him with both barrels of a shotgun, and NOT be unloaded, merely by manipulating the steps in a turn?
That's what I am reading.

Tommy2013 Mar 2018 8:59 p.m. PST

It's been a while since I played, and I don't have the book with me, but IIRC you may take an action to reload at any time. So, IF firing both barrels is one action, then, yes, you may use your third action to reload.

Houdini14 Mar 2018 2:00 a.m. PST

Hmmm… Page 9 says "An out of ammo result means that the shooter may not shoot again this turn – any remaining declared shooting actions are wasted – and must reload in his following turn before further shooting takes place. Place an out of ammo counter next to the model." I don't think you should be using the third action to discard the token in the same turn.

Dexter Ward14 Mar 2018 2:52 a.m. PST

Page 9 is referring to what happens when you roll a 1 (or someone plays a card causing you to go out of ammo).
Then you can't reload till next turn.
A figures gets 3 actions.
So you can indeed move, fire both barrels, reload.
It's not manipulating anything; how long does it take to reload a shotgun? A second or two?
But it's generally not a good idea as it leaves you standing there in the open, and shotgun armed figures are a magnet for every shooter.
We find that the most effective way to use shotguns is move, fire both barrels, move (back into cover, hopefully)
Then reload in cover next turn, ready for another go.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.