Help support TMP


"Red Planet" Topic


6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

Please use the Complaint button (!) to report problems on the forums.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the SF Scenarios Message Board

Back to the SF Media Message Board


Areas of Interest

Science Fiction

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Recent Link


Featured Showcase Article

Wyrd's Baby Kade: Something Wyrd

It's Thanksgiving - and I'm thankful I won this eBay auction!


Featured Profile Article

Statting the Rust Devils

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian comes up with the stats and roster for the Rust Devils in his sci-fi campaign.


Featured Book Review


1,204 hits since 18 Feb 2018
©1994-2021 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?


TMP logo

Membership

Please sign in to your membership account, or, if you are not yet a member, please sign up for your free membership account.
robert piepenbrink Supporting Member of TMP18 Feb 2018 11:29 a.m. PST

Guys, I'm doing a little world-building which may or may not result in a game--maybe just a stamped passport and some souvenir photos--but I need more source material for adventures set on Mars.
Ground rules. Not interested in terraforming the place. Not very interested in colonizing and VSF--though floatwood may show up. What I want is classic pulp and earlier Mars/Barsoom in the tradition of Burroughs, CL Moore and Leigh Brackett--canals, city-states and deserts filled with ruins, lost cities and adventurers.
Also not interested in novels. Yes, I know. But I honestly think I've read them all--and all the Moore and Brackett short stories. But this stuff used to fill SF magazines. What can anyone recommend by way of short stories or novellas which might fill in detail or add color?
Bonus points for names of authors, titles of collections or anything else which will make them easier to track down.
Thanks.

Cacique Caribe18 Feb 2018 12:00 p.m. PST

Robert: "What I want is classic pulp and earlier Mars/Barsoom in the tradition of Burroughs, CL Moore and Leigh Brackett--canals, city-states and deserts filled with ruins, lost cities and adventurers."

You also want Pulp style artwork then?

Dan

mad monkey 118 Feb 2018 1:03 p.m. PST

Otis Aldebert kline.

robert piepenbrink Supporting Member of TMP18 Feb 2018 1:24 p.m. PST

Mad Monkey, you didn't believe me when I said I'd read all the novels? Yes, both Klines, I think all three Moorcocks and all three Lin Carters, though I may have given up at some point. That's on top of All ERB Mars, all Leigh Brackett, All CL Moore, Arnold's one, SM Stirling's one Chadwick's one and the one Zelazny short set on the traditional Mars. But I'm surely missing a ton of short stories.

Dan, I always enjoy artwork, but cultural stuff would be more useful. It struck me today that Burroughs has currency and a measuring system, but Moore adds a range of intoxicants, and Brackett adds a new vice. You can meet lunatic monarchs anywhere, but only on Mars can you sit down with a glass of segir and feel smugly superior to the shanga addicts. A different world should have a different culture, but seldom does. I think traditional Mars may be the only place so many SF writers filled in one another's gaps.

Cacique Caribe18 Feb 2018 3:57 p.m. PST

Language on Barsoom:

link
link

Customs:

link

Dan

Coelacanth18 Feb 2018 5:29 p.m. PST

There is a whole lot of Mars art at The Art of Barsoom. It hasn't been updated in several years, but lists artists all the way back to Frank E. Schoonover. I know, you were looking more for stories, but this is all I've got. Best of luck with your search!

Ron

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.