Help support TMP

"A quick question about "THE PLEDGE"..." Topic

13 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Wargaming in General Message Board

489 hits since 28 Dec 2017
©1994-2018 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

IronMike28 Dec 2017 4:39 p.m. PST

Do I add to my 'lead pile' when I pay for the nodels, or when they arrive? For example: If I paid for a Kickstarter in 2017, but it arrives in May of 2018, do I count it again the 2017 or 2918 total?

whitphoto Supporting Member of TMP28 Dec 2017 5:05 p.m. PST

Are there rules? I would guess it's when you get them in your gruby hands to cackle over like Smaug. And then sit on them unfinished, like Smaug also.

Winston Smith Supporting Member of TMP28 Dec 2017 5:13 p.m. PST

I think The Pledge is dumb.
But what you want, when you want.

Personal logo Grelber Supporting Member of TMP28 Dec 2017 5:19 p.m. PST

I don't know that there are "Official Rules." For what it's worth, I count them when I actually get them. Over the years, I've ordered things that didn't come or only got part of the order. Manufacturers have also been known to toss in a bonus figure or two.


Personal logo Der Alte Fritz Sponsoring Member of TMP28 Dec 2017 6:26 p.m. PST

My understanding is that you can't buy new figures unless you can offset the new ones with the same number of newly painted figures.

FusilierDan Supporting Member of TMP28 Dec 2017 7:43 p.m. PST

I count them when I get them. The "rules" are pretty loose to say the least and I think each participant has their own interpretation. Participating as certainly helped me paint more and kept me from buying without thinking for a second how would it would affect my Pledge goal.

Cornelius Supporting Member of TMP29 Dec 2017 3:47 a.m. PST

You can only paint what you have so surely it only counts when you get it. I also exclude the acquisition of all free figures (e.g. Salute giveaways), although obviously thee painting of such figures does count. By those rules I am +6 figures this year and may make it into double figures (and will have finished about 125 figures in the year).

Sean D Clark29 Dec 2017 4:18 a.m. PST


How rude. If you can't something nice don't say anything at all.

nnascati Supporting Member of TMP29 Dec 2017 7:11 a.m. PST

I agree with Winston, my only rule is that I don't spend "household" money on my toys. When I sell something or earn money by painting, then I buy things. Keeps the pile from bulding up.

Personal logo etotheipi Sponsoring Member of TMP30 Dec 2017 3:00 p.m. PST

Hey, set your own rules. If you want to work a negative glide slope, then go ahead. If not, don't.

SWMBO's version of the Pledge is, "Until you use one of each of these

Lemony fresh!

you can't buy any more minis.

FusilierDan Supporting Member of TMP31 Dec 2017 5:29 a.m. PST

etotheipi, does using Pledge in your formula for The Dip count?

Personal logo etotheipi Sponsoring Member of TMP31 Dec 2017 8:36 a.m. PST

You ask, and I'll go get the bandages…

saltflats192902 Jan 2018 9:21 p.m. PST

Considering we may die when we finish our lead pile, i think we have to maintain a strict rule accountability.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.