Help support TMP


"40K 8th - Psychic Attacks" Topic


14 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Warhammer 40K Message Board



408 hits since 10 Sep 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Louie N Supporting Member of TMP10 Sep 2017 8:47 p.m. PST

Hello,

Can psychic attacks be launched even if the model in engaged in melee, i.e. has an enemy model within 1".

Thanks

Personal logo Pictors Studio Sponsoring Member of TMP11 Sep 2017 3:36 a.m. PST

Yes I believe they can be. Some probably require you to be in melee to be used.

lugal hdan11 Sep 2017 12:01 p.m. PST

I think so, and unlike shooting, they seem to be possible even if you advance.

Generalstoner49 Supporting Member of TMP11 Sep 2017 6:25 p.m. PST

Yes. There is nothing specially mentioned that I have seen that says you cannot cast psychic powers while in melee. This makes smite even better as you can have a unit smite the enemies that are directly in melee with him.

The H Man11 Sep 2017 8:05 p.m. PST

Without an in depth read of the rules I would say you can if the unit the model is in is engaged but not if the model itself is. This sounds fair to me.

So, basically I am suggesting that it can't if an enemy is within 1".

Again it sounds fair to me. Someone trying to stab you would be a little off putting when your trying to concentrate. Also why also have a weapon if you can just use your mind…?

If there are melee specific psychic rules check their wording.

Louie N Supporting Member of TMP11 Sep 2017 9:52 p.m. PST

You may need the psychic attack depending on the unit you are facing. For example, Necron Wraiths with a 3+ invulnerable save.

Your melee weapon may wound on 2+ (Eldar Shining Spear) but getting through a 3+ Invulnerable save is tough.

You have to go all mental on them.

The H Man12 Sep 2017 6:03 a.m. PST

In which case the added task of keeping your psycher out if harms way creates a nice challenge.

Being able to use such attacks all the time under any circumstances would seem cheesy.

I can imagine some suitably equipped and trained warrior psychic getting into the thick of it, but still within a unit and only going toe toe with the most diabolic of other psychers or such.

I don't remember gandalf actually casting while locked in one on one combat. (I may be wrong)

Louie N Supporting Member of TMP12 Sep 2017 7:10 a.m. PST

With the movement rates and the range of the attack it will be unlikely to keep the Farseer out of combat.

Smite has an 18" range and Wraiths have a 12" move combined with the 2D6 charge movement.

Not guaranteed to reach, but odds are in your favor.

Isn't all of 40k cheesy. :-)

The risk is the perils of the warp and the counter is having your own psycher near by to negate the attack.

Thanks

Centurio Prime12 Sep 2017 7:18 a.m. PST

There is no rule preventing the use of a psychic power within 1" of the enemy unless the power itself states that restriction.

ScottWashburn Sponsoring Member of TMP12 Sep 2017 7:54 a.m. PST

Psychic powers have their own phase. Shooting has its own phase. Pistol armed troops are allowed to fire at enemy units within 1" during the shooting phase even if they are engaged in close combat (which is the only way there can be enemy troops within 1") and then fight in the close combat phase. Psychic powers ought to work the same way.

The H Man12 Sep 2017 2:22 p.m. PST

Except it does not take much thought to pull a trigger.

Louie N Supporting Member of TMP12 Sep 2017 4:02 p.m. PST

link

Just opinions for now until GW releases more FAQs

Thanks

Centurio Prime13 Sep 2017 4:34 a.m. PST

Its not opinion, its clear in the rules that you can use smite and other psychic powers in close combat. I think it is intended to be that way, so I doubt an FAQ will change it.

In all my games of 8th edition, including a major tournament I just attended which was ran/attended by groups who playtest for GW, I have never seen anyone dispute that psychic powers could be cast within 1" of the enemy.

Also… Tyranids aren't the "cheese army" of 8th edition, that's kind of funny actually.

Capt Flash14 Sep 2017 6:46 p.m. PST

Centurio Prime has it right.
The other opinions are fine as a house rule if your local groups accept them as such…

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.