Help support TMP

"TMWWBK Rules Question" Topic

4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the 19th Century Discussion Message Board

445 hits since 18 May 2017
©1994-2018 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Rhingyll Supporting Member of TMP18 May 2017 9:55 a.m. PST

Can a tribal unit that has gone to ground stand up and fire if it passes an activation test or does it have to use it's free move to stand up and then on the next turn pass the activation test to fire?

sjwalker38 Inactive Member18 May 2017 11:37 a.m. PST

That's a good question. A unit can only make one action per turn, so the order would be 'Fire', requiring a successful test in order to do so, and losing its GTG status – they don't need to stand up first.

But, what if the unit fails the test? They cannot fire but do they remain hunkered down with the benefit of GTG? We've played it that, in this case, they lose the GTG status (as the move is a free action) in getting up but while doing so weren't fast enough to get the shot in during the same turn.

Oh Bugger Inactive Member18 May 2017 2:34 p.m. PST

I'm more inclined to think that as they fail the shoot test they remain GTG on the basis that the order was ignored. But either option would work.

GildasFacit Sponsoring Member of TMP19 May 2017 7:59 a.m. PST

I played a game recently and they allowed firing from GtoG – in this case the shooters were Boers who used that tactic as the norm in reality.

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.