Help support TMP


"TSATF Rules questions-suggestions" Topic


8 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to The Sword and The Flame Message Board



437 hits since 23 Mar 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

OSL200023 Mar 2017 8:57 a.m. PST

1. Are the combat melee modifiers cumulative when figuring out close combat?
2. Does native cavalry gain any advantage over infantry? Does the higher ground bonus apply to cavalry versus infantry?
Thank yoi

Winston Smith Supporting Member of TMP23 Mar 2017 9:09 a.m. PST

1. Yes
2. Only if noted in modifiers. Cav is not higher ground.

Ceterman Supporting Member of TMP23 Mar 2017 9:31 a.m. PST

I'm pretty sure ALL modifiers are cumulative. Higher Ground would be for ALL troops, so yeah. That Infantry STILL has to run up the hill, or Cav gets to charge down, either way, it's an advantage. And I believe Tribal or Native Cav has a +1 where as Imperial Cav has a +2, (I think) it's been a while & I'm at work!

Ceterman Supporting Member of TMP23 Mar 2017 10:54 a.m. PST

Okay, maybe I'm wrong about that Cav thing, sure wouldn't be the first time… like I said, I'm at work, so!

Personal logo piper909 Supporting Member of TMP23 Mar 2017 11:32 a.m. PST

I'd have to pull out the rules to be sure, but I recall that at one time at least there was confusion caused by how cumulative the modifiers really should be -- things like formations being combined with terrain features often seem to be at variance, for example ( Close order AND defending a wall? Cavalry AND Leader AND Close Order AND barricade?) Maybe not so much now as in the original editions. But worth looking up and thinking about. Too many modifiers might throw a melee out of whack. Close combat is tricky enough to adjudicate in these rules, given bizarre unit arrangements and the influence of terrain factors.

cturnitsa Supporting Member of TMP27 Mar 2017 12:06 p.m. PST

Cavalry CAN be on higher ground (and would get the modifier), but they don't count as Higher just because they are mounted.

cturnitsa Supporting Member of TMP27 Mar 2017 12:08 p.m. PST

See this recently article I wrote, to see what the impact is on a +1, +2, and 'Wins Ties' on the opposed D6 mechanism of TSATF.

Spoiler: it is a huge impact.

link

SgtGuinness Supporting Member of TMP28 Mar 2017 3:31 p.m. PST

Chuck,

Very interesting analysis. Thank you for posting the link. I was particularly amused by how the percentages change dramatically with just the slightest mods. I was of course interested in the section pertaining to TSATF since that is my rules set of choice. Even with seeing these percentages on paper I'm still satisfied with the mechanics of TSATF.

Cheers,
JB

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.