Help support TMP


"Question about charging in TSATF" Topic


10 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to The Sword and The Flame Message Board



304 hits since 21 Mar 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

OSL200021 Mar 2017 8:37 a.m. PST

A unit wants to charge another unit but fails to meet the measured amount of inches to reach its target, what happens to that charging unit? Pinned, shaken or another idea.

The Ummer Inactive Member21 Mar 2017 8:56 a.m. PST

I believe it becomes pinned

VCarter Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 9:04 a.m. PST

I believe they move as far as they can while taking stragglers (who only move 1/2 distance) and the charging unit remain in the same formation. The following move (if the unit charges again) it need to take more stragglers from the main body.

Personal logo Flashman14 Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 9:16 a.m. PST

VCarter is right – no pinning.

79thPA Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 9:56 a.m. PST

The leader of the unit says, "oops" and they stand there waiting to get blasted. Pinning applies to troops who don't close because of a morale failure.

Winston Smith Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 10:08 a.m. PST

Everyone else laughs at the charger who rolled 2,1,1,2,2 on 5 dice and watches the cowards get blasted.
Yeah. They just stand there hoping nobody notices.

Btw, the stragglers are still part of the unit. They can still participate if the unit survives to try to charge again next turn. They don't carry perpetual shame with them. New charge equals new straggler roll. Roll high next time.

Btw, this is one of those things that TSATF haters hate. They think a charge move should be predictable. What happens is that the target had time to react. I love it, though.

VCarter Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 10:42 a.m. PST

Re: stragglers that only move half – During melee any figures within one inch can join in. I've ruled that stragglers can also join if they meet the requirement.

Enemy line 12 inches away and charging unit rolls 24 – results in everyone joining the fun.

Winston Smith Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 11:01 a.m. PST

Peer pressure? grin

I have always held stragglers back, regardless. They aren't just slow. They are unwilling. grin
But, your way sounds interesting.

VCarter Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 11:43 a.m. PST

They don't get to join in that often, but when they do….

I didn't really want to come, but now that I'm here I'll lend a hand.

Ed Mohrmann Supporting Member of TMP21 Mar 2017 12:14 p.m. PST

I rule the same as VCarter. It is indeed rare, but
it does happen, usually to a unit which did not quite
make the charge distance on the die rolls and then
survived the defensive fire.

This is also the reason why natives need to charge
one British unit with 3 native units, whenever
possible

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.