Help support TMP


"More TMWWBK Q's" Topic


6 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the 19th Century Discussion Message Board



264 hits since 3 Mar 2017
©1994-2017 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Mike Target03 Mar 2017 6:26 a.m. PST

Hi all, enjoying these rules but unrue on a couple of points…

1) Measuring- To pre measure or not to pre measure. Cant find it in the book…does it even matter as long as both sides play the same way?

2) Line of sight- when deciding who can shoot is it assumed that if one can see then the whole unit can? With range as long as one model can shoot then they all can, but its not clear if thats true for LOS too…

thanks!

Ceterman Supporting Member of TMP03 Mar 2017 8:57 a.m. PST

I think I've seen these in the rule book somewhere, I'm at work, so I can't help ya right now! Sorry…

Rhingyll Supporting Member of TMP03 Mar 2017 9:57 a.m. PST

The rules on page 16 say " "So long as one model from each unit is within range and line of sight, firing takes place and casualties may occur to any models in the target unit". As we are asking questions, I know in the rules it says that a shooter may ignore a pinned unit and shoot through it at a unit behind it. Does this apply to shooting through friendly pinned units units as well as enemy units? I have been playing that you can't ignore a friendly pinned unit and cannot shoot though it to hit an enemy. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Mike Target03 Mar 2017 12:40 p.m. PST

You sure you can shoot through a pinned unit? I thought you could just ignore it when determining who was the closest and therefore priority target…

Rhingyll Supporting Member of TMP03 Mar 2017 2:46 p.m. PST

M. Target. Maybe you are right.When it says ignore it as a target, I just pretended it wasn't there because on page 25 it says "May be ignored as a target and does not block line of sight". On page 16 it says you can fire at a unit if it is in range and has line of sight. You would have line of sight to a unit behind a pinned unit (page 25). Physically it seems you shouldn't be able to fire through them but the rules seem to read otherwise. Now I am confused.

Mike Target03 Mar 2017 4:45 p.m. PST

ah id missed p25, and only read p17:
"pinned units and units that have gone to ground may be ignored as targets"

I suppose thats the rationalisation…being pinned and gone to ground presumably both involve very close examination of things like soil, grass, insects and so on….

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.