Help support TMP


"Samurai Robot Battle Royale combat question" Topic


4 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Song of Blades and Heroes Message Board

Back to the Giant Monster Gaming Message Board


Areas of Interest

Fantasy
Science Fiction

Featured Hobby News Article


Featured Showcase Article

Hundvig's Grendel Scenics

Hundvig Fezian shows off his workmanship on a fantasy scenics set.


Featured Workbench Article

Adam Paints Some Lady Pirates

Adam loves Scorched Brown...


Featured Profile Article

First Look: Battlefront's Train Tracks

Personal logo Editor in Chief Bill The Editor of TMP Fezian checks out some 10/15mm railroad tracks for wargaming.


935 hits since 6 Feb 2017
©1994-2020 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Muerto06 Feb 2017 9:03 a.m. PST

Hi all,

A query for wiser heads: in the activation section, we have

Mechas may perform more than one attack per turn using different body parts. Each body part may attack once per action or spend one or two extra actions on an attack (close combat or ranged) to reduce their opponent's C value by 1 or 2

The first sentence, linked with the norm in other Ganesha rules, would suggest one attack per body part per turn is all that is allowed. The second sentence would suggest as many attacks are allowed per body part as successful activation rolls.

How do others play this? Has there been a clarification? Should the second sentence read "once per turn" rather than "action"? And if not, does this mean army units may fire as many times as they have available actions?

Cheers.

boy wundyr x06 Feb 2017 10:46 a.m. PST

The second case is still one attack, but you spend extra actions to make it powerful or extra powerful. Think of it as aiming a ranged attack or winding up a punch.

Muerto06 Feb 2017 4:09 p.m. PST

Agreed, the "or spend one or two extra … by 1 or 2" is quite clear.

It's the "once per action" that seems to indicate multiple attacks. That wording suggests that if I have rolled 3 actions, I may attack 3 times (once per action), or once with a -2 to the opponent's C, or once normally and once with -1 to the opponent's C.

Muerto07 Feb 2017 4:38 a.m. PST

A mate put me out of my misery by contacting Andrea, the author. He got this response:

Yes mechas can perform multiple attacks per turn. One per action if you want. Imagine a machine gun firing a lot if sustained fire attacks in a short time. But it is generally better to perform aimed shots with two actions.

So, thanks Andrea!

Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.