Help support TMP

"Empire V and Forming Square" Topic

5 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.

Back to the Empire Message Board

Areas of Interest


Featured Hobby News Article

Featured Showcase Article

GallopingJack Checks Out The Terrain Mat

Mal Wright Fezian goes to sea with the Terrain Mat.

Featured Profile Article

1,524 hits since 18 Dec 2013
©1994-2020 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Malefric19 Dec 2013 12:13 a.m. PST

I was hoping a veteran Empire V player might be able to further explain when to use chart 11.100 "Forming Squares Table" vs 11.14 "Tactical Adjustment Chart".

Both Charts examine the current formation of a unit and give a % chance to enter into Square. My reading of the rules seems to indicate that the Tactical Adjustment Chart is used for an initiative player that wishes change formation as part of his owned tactical impulse. The Forming Squares chart is used for non-initiative players that are charged or any player that has Cavalry approach within 15" of his front.

What I'm stumbling on is the Tactical Adjustment Chart does not consider 1) Morale Class and 2) Distance to charging enemy and thus penalizes units for forming square during their own tactical impulse.

For Example a battalion of Grenadiers in Attack Column 10 inches from a unit of enemy cavalry to its front. If the cavalry elect to charge the attack column, the non-initiative infantry refer to the "Forming Squares" Chart and have a 90% chance of forming square.

However, if that same Attack Column of Grenadiers attempted to form square during their own initiative impulse (thus triggering an opportunity charge for the cavalry), you would refer to the "Tactical Adjustment Chart" and the infantry would have a 40% chance to form square.

I'm not understanding the rationale behind the significantly different results. To be fair the Tactical Adjustment Chart cuts both ways, it grants a better chance of forming square for lower quality troops or at distances under 6" than the "Forming Square Chart".

Any clarification would be appreciated.

21eRegt19 Dec 2013 6:29 p.m. PST

It's funny, I've never noticed that before or at least made the connection in all these years of playing. I guess it *might* be that if you are sitting there watching the enemy you should have a better chance than in a "oops, look what we've gone and done."

Ooiittee24 Jun 2014 8:49 p.m. PST

The only thing I can think of is the statement in the rules for 11.100 that states that Whenever Infantry units other than British or KGL form square while under attack, they are considered a "hastely formed" square.

Therefore a square formed in your initiative is a solid formed square if successful. But one formed in response to a charge is hastely (unless British/KGL).

This still doesnt note explain the inconsistancy in the numbers, being better and worse for both tables under certain conditions.

Art25 Jun 2014 9:20 p.m. PST

G'Day Mr. Ooiittee

I shall not comment on the rules…for I am certain someone who actually has them, may be able to look them up…

But in regards to both British and KGL not having any hasty formed squares…while all other countries must…

This is old school rules…and hopefully something that Mr. Bowden shall one day correct…

Best Regards

Marshall Ney22 Oct 2017 5:00 p.m. PST

Hi Malefric,

I have played Empire a lot so I think I can give you an accurate answer. You are correct a unit with the initiative that wishes to go to square uses the Tactical Adjustment Chart.

If this causes an opportunity charge the % chance to form square is based off the chance to complete the change of formation before the enemy contacts you.

It is a smart game mechanic I think to give some uncertainty for the player making the choice to change formation in the teeth of the enemy and for the opposition player not to know exactly what the enemies formation will be when he gets into close action.


Sorry - only verified members can post on the forums.