Help support TMP


"Questions re British Grenadier order system" Topic


3 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the 18th Century Discussion Message Board

Back to the American Revolution Message Board


385 hits since 21 Jan 2013
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Mr Martyn21 Jan 2013 1:05 p.m. PST

Hi

I've had the game a few years, and even bought the 2nd edition when it was released. However, I had my first game a few weeks ago and I'm not entirely sure how the order system works. Would be grateful if someone could answer the following questions (also, if anyone could point me to where this is stated in the rules, I would be doubly grateful).

1. If you order a brigade to engage/assault a specific brigade, and another enemy brigade goes across your front, what happens re order priorities? Do you engage/assault this new brigade, as they are a more immediate threat?

2. Are orders declared i.e. should your opponent know what your orders are?

3. Under ANY orders, can at least 1 unit "step back"?

4. Under engage, it says that the brigade advances at a speed set out by the brigade general; what does this mean?

5. Once you have engaged an enemy, do you automatically go onto hold orders?

6. If you are engaging/assaulting another brigade, does at least 1 unit have to move forward? What if you want everyone to change formation? Do you simply have to perform some form of "move" action in order to satisfy the requirements?

7. Where does it say in the ruleset that a brigade/CinC general can only rally off a DP if the unit is stationary?


Many thanks

Martyn

Eclaireur22 Jan 2013 1:46 p.m. PST

You've been answered on the BG forum Martyn.
EC

historygamer23 Jan 2013 8:37 a.m. PST

Oh come on, share with the rest of us. :-)

Sorry - only trusted members can post on the forums.