Help support TMP


"X-Wing Movement Question... Moving THOUGH Bases" Topic


10 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Star Wars Message Board


485 hits since 7 Dec 2012
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

Personal logo richarDISNEY of the RDGC Supporting Member of TMP Inactive Member07 Dec 2012 10:27 a.m. PST

This came up last weekend…

My daughter was playing the X-wing and I was manning the TIEs.

I moved first and then she did a move that the turn template went across my base. The actual movement would have finished beyond my base.

Does the x-wing finish it's movement when it comes in contact with my base, or does she go 'though' me to finish the entire move?

I see on page 17 about the overlapping rules, but the rules indicate that the movement gets 'cut back' when you FINISH your move that ends on someone else's base. That did not happen. She would have finished outside of my base.

How should I handle that?

beer

Chief Lackey Rich Supporting Member of TMP Fezian07 Dec 2012 10:38 a.m. PST

You finish the move – in your example she'd end up where she was aiming for. You only check for clearance at the end of your movement, just before you take actions (so Barrel Roll can't get you out of a collision, for ex). If the base overlaps anything at that point, you "back up" to the closest point where it doesn't, and then collide with whatever stopped you.

Personal logo vojvoda Supporting Member of TMP Inactive Member07 Dec 2012 10:42 a.m. PST

If the template extends past your fighter then her move is fine she did not have to stop before the fighter unless she did not have enough room left at the end of the move.
VR
James Mattes

Personal logo richarDISNEY of the RDGC Supporting Member of TMP Inactive Member07 Dec 2012 10:56 a.m. PST

Thanks!
beer

Ghostrunner07 Dec 2012 11:23 a.m. PST

I had this come up one of my first games, and we kind of botched it.

Vader wound up head to head (base contact) with Wedge.

IF you can't move through other bases, both of them were stuck there until one died.

To make matters worse, they can't shoot at each other to resolve the issue.

After deciding we must have something wrong, we went back to the rules and found out how it is supposed to work.

Personal logo Ironwolf Supporting Member of TMP07 Dec 2012 2:31 p.m. PST

ok, we played a pick up game the other night at the local shop and a tie fighter moved through an x-wing. The tip of the tie fighter base was just touching the w-wing base. And would have put the tie fighter in a position it had nothing in its arc of fire. the tie fighter player said since the bases were touching he was able to move stop right in front of the x-wing and stop, placing the x-wing in the tie fighters arc of fire. Then get 4 dice cause its with in the short distance.

The rest of us said he should just complete his move since it was only the tips of the bases touching or if he did stop his movement at the x-wing, then he should not get to fire. One watcher said they thought the rules even covered this situation and the tie fighter should not get to fire.

Those with the rules or have experience with the game what are your thoughts on this situation??

I should add, most of us are not "rules lawyers" and game for fun. So we went ahead and told the guy to blast away. He rolled bad and did only one hit, so no biggie.

rescuescooter Inactive Member07 Dec 2012 2:57 p.m. PST

You only stop your move if you are unable to physically place your base without overlapping another base. From your description it sounds to me like the TIE was able to completely move through the X Wing so he should have completed his move. Touching is not overlapping. Note however, that ships which are touching may not fire at each other, so even if he had shorted his move he would still be unable to fire at the X Wing.

rescuescooter Inactive Member07 Dec 2012 2:58 p.m. PST

and Kudos for playing through. The spirit of the game and having fun are what counts…. and extra dice for a close range attack is always fun!

Chief Lackey Rich Supporting Member of TMP Fezian07 Dec 2012 3:49 p.m. PST

Note however, that ships which are touching may not fire at each other, so even if he had shorted his move he would still be unable to fire at the X Wing.

And the TIE player's attempted ploy there is almost certainly why the rule is written that way.

Personal logo Ironwolf Supporting Member of TMP08 Dec 2012 2:49 a.m. PST

We really enjoy the game and we also laughed and commented that if we had taken the time to read the rules this probably would not have even come up. hahaha But we did have fun and plan on more games. Thanks for the rule clarification.

Sorry - only trusted members can post on the forums.