Help support TMP


"Arc of fire in X-Wing?" Topic


12 Posts

All members in good standing are free to post here. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the posters, and have not been cleared with nor are they endorsed by The Miniatures Page.

For more information, see the TMP FAQ.


Back to the Star Wars Message Board


600 hits since 23 Nov 2012
©1994-2014 Bill Armintrout
Comments or corrections?

The Membership System will be closing for maintenance in 7 minutes. Please finish anything that will involve the membership system, including membership changes or posting of messages.

Personal logo vojvoda Supporting Member of TMP Inactive Member23 Nov 2012 3:44 a.m. PST

I was playing a game with the boys the other night and one was measuring arc of fire from the front of the base using the front of the stand. For range that is okay but I always check LOS from the peg. We have had several turns where LOS was a question but I can not find in the rules a clarification of the rules about LOS.

How do you play it? I allowed the boys to target if any part of the base could be seen within the firing arc.

VR
James Mattes

David Manley23 Nov 2012 4:17 a.m. PST

LOS from the peg to any part of the target base.

ming3123 Nov 2012 7:03 a.m. PST

bas to base shortest distance

thosmoss23 Nov 2012 7:45 a.m. PST

I find the arc drawn on the ship token is really quite bright and easy to line up. Usually the tightest LOS checks can be seen looking from the target ship, down the line to the firing ship. From that angle, it's always been quite clear whether the target base is in, or out of LOS.

I'm also quick to give my opponent the benefit of a doubt in game situations like this -- I like to think it makes it a nicer galaxy.

Personal logo FingerandToeGlenn Sponsoring Member of TMP23 Nov 2012 10:12 a.m. PST

I play with my 7yo grandson--if it's a question, he gets it, I don't, but my interpretation of the rules is edge of firing ship to any part of the base of target.

Mako1123 Nov 2012 3:34 p.m. PST

Not 100% sure, but it appears to me the rules intend any part of the base to any part of the base.

You should probably check their rule FAQ, or the tournament rules on the FFG Forums.

Personal logo vojvoda Supporting Member of TMP Inactive Member23 Nov 2012 5:55 p.m. PST

The question comes up when one ship is almost entirely behind another and there is one enemy ship that you have just a sliver of the base in the arc. I let the boys have it if it is at all within the arc and can draw a line from the base to anypart of the enemy base without having to trace a line of sight through another enemy or friendly base.
VR
James Mattes

Mako1123 Nov 2012 6:47 p.m. PST

Just re-dead the rules.

ming31 has it right, since that also deals with obstacles intervening as well, and you aren't permitted to measure from other portions of the base in order to avoid those.

Mako1123 Nov 2012 10:12 p.m. PST

Ah, that should be re-read.

Bad fingers, bad…….

Gunslinger Inactive Member23 Nov 2012 11:22 p.m. PST

I do not believe ships block LOS, so an intervening ship should not matter.

Delthos24 Nov 2012 1:13 p.m. PST

Ships do not block LOS in X-Wing. LOS is determined by the wedge shaped arc on the base. That means essentially the post to the corners of the base token.

Weapons range is determined from closest point of firing ship's base to the closest point of the target ship's base.

Mako1124 Nov 2012 5:20 p.m. PST

Asteroids, and other things do, so was trying to cover that issue as well.

Sorry - only trusted members can post on the forums.